DataLink

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DataLink

DataLink is a module for UDK which allows you to save and load data outside of UDK. There are two parts to the module.

Part A is a C++ layer which is responsible for the actual saving and loading data. It receives commands sent by UDK via TCP and sends requested data back.

Part B is an Unrealscript layer which developers will use to save and load data. It receives data and sends commands to the C++ layer.

Three formats are planned at this stage, which are configuration files, xml files and binary files. With the binary format, the developer is allowed to develop their own format for their game.

Hold on, so are you saying this allows for external code? Meaning you could sort of add to the sourcecode without having access to it?

Forgive me i'm not a programmer xD

Comment

He's using an external application to communicate with UDK via TCPLink.

Comment

good stuff
        can we try it? or in a future? ))

may the force will be with you

Comment

nice app! wish I was a programmer though

Comment

How does the game launch the server component?

Comment

It doesn't. You have to launch it separately prior to starting the game.

Comment

Solid Snake, so would this allow the game being diven entirely by, say like RTS, RPG, or turn based game by just sending commands like "go here", "take that", "use this spell", "load different map"? Effectually allowing you to write your own network layer in uscript?

Comment

Hold on, so are you saying this allows for external code? Meaning you could sort of add to the sourcecode without having access to it?
                  Not as flexible as you may think. The interfaces are specific and are fixed. While it is technically possible to code larger portions of the game outside of UDK and communicate to UDK using TCP, I would not recommend it. This idea works because the data receive and send can be blocking actions if need be.