Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The Vault - UDK shortfilm

Hey Guys

I have always been a fan of the unreal engine and the games that epic makes. so when i heard about UDK I was really keen on giving it a go. However I never really had the time as I was working on other projects . Once the I finally got some spare time. I decided to use the unreal engine to make a short 3d animated movie starring myself. The first thing I did was to 3d scan my head.

For this project i had only one rule and that was that everything had to be created by me. Only problem was that I was a novice 3d modeler, I hadn't ever worked in this field before but that wasnt going to stop me.

I first started writing a script for my story

with the script completed, I started working on the skeletal meshes/characters. Since I had mostly worked with hard surfaces/ creating mechanical components, I struggled when it came to modelling human anatomy. I realised it wasn’t practical to model human features through polygon manipulation in 3ds max, so I turned to zbrush, After about 19 failed attempts I finally turned a zphere into a baseline skeletal mesh.The base line model was then used to sculpt facial and body features for the characters of my story. With sculpting finished I moved onto texturing. Then finally to retopology /UV mapping. Although it was very daunting at first, I soon became very comfortable with zbrush and was very surprised at how easy it was to use.

With all the character created, I then had to give them bones so they could move around. The tedious task of skinning/rigging was then performed. I hated this stage..

I also wanted the face to be rigged as well, but instead of placing a whole bunch of bones, I used morph targets. Now I had fully rigged/textured/ low poly models ready for my animated movie.