Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1 week stress environment : Deus EX apartment

Hi all
    It's my very first post here but I've actually been lurking for quite some time and used UDK for various personal projects.

Let me introduce myself first, I'm a professional game artist currently working at 3 point studios, I have worked on a few unreal related title such as Pariah, Warpath and Bioshock 2 and some other unrelated titles, mostly as props and weapon artist.

ok so now that the formal thing is done and you know more about my background, here's the thing : I decided to create a one week stress test to evaluate the quality of my workflows and how fast I could get a full environment done, what I would have to sacrifice to go faster and yet maintain a decent look. Mainly because if you take months to create an environment, you don't evaluate your mistakes and can keep repeating bad workflows all the time without even noticing there's something bad. the rules were simple :
    -no more than 10/20 minutes struggle on a problem, if it takes more, it either requires a super complex solution, or is a bad idea.
    -keep texture quality as good as possible, yet try to spend as little time as possible on them, focusing mainly on color and value, if it reads as wood, it's wood, no need to slap in noisy textures to make up for bad base values.
    -use the 3 point shader as a base for the texturing process, meaning I don't have to go back and forth between UDK and max/ps (avoiding to re import textures as much as possible)
    -create all the shaders from scratch, yet try to use as many material instances as possible, shaders must contain the same qualities as the 3 point shader since I want a predictable look.

for the TL;DR : I wanted to see if I could do it in a week.

sorry for the wall of text, here are the screenies, keep in mind it's a weeks side work, with real work, real life and 2 days off in there, so no, I didn't sleep much .