Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    40

    Default Frame rate problem after PC restore

    My Frame rate for UT3 is extremely low.

    Before I restored my laptop UT3 is working completely fine, but after i reinstalled the frame rate dropped a lot (Same thing happened with need for speed hot pursuit and Crysis 2) I have reinstalled Direct x but the frame rate is still low. I don't know how to reinstall/update my ATI graphics though...

    Thanks for any help!!

  2. #2
    Boomshot
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    ...ǝpís ɹǝɥʇo ǝɥʇ
    Posts
    2,555

    Default

    hi, u need to provide more infos about ur PC if u need specific help
    to update ur ATI driver, here it is...
    ~THUND3RL4ND~IP:77.111.254.236:27015 -UOF-UnrealOldFriendsForum
    AsusFormulaV/FX-8350@8x5.0ghz/CustomLoop/MSI-N660TI-PE-OC/KingstonHyperX-8GbDDR3-1600Mhz/KingstonHyperX-SSD120GB/InWin-DragonRider/AntecQuattro1000W
    XFire&Steam:bfgblitz MyMaps

  3. #3
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Ok, here it is:

    Intel Core i5 cpu 2.53GHz
    4.00GB RAM
    64 bit windows 7 home premium HP
    DirectX 11

    Graphics:
    ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5000 series
    memory 2194 MB
    dedicated video memory: 512 MB
    System video memory: 0 MB
    shared system memory 1690 MB

    Anything I missed??? Thanks

    PS The game works perfectly fine before restore (I had restored several times before that too) without using any support programs (etc. game booster)

  4. #4
    Boomshot
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    ...ǝpís ɹǝɥʇo ǝɥʇ
    Posts
    2,555

    Default

    weird....did u add or change programs after u restored the pc?: something like a new AV (some AVs like bitdefender just kill the pc performances if the "gaming" mode" isnt actived on some versions)
    did u check if ur gfx driver is up to date on ATI/AMD site?
    ~THUND3RL4ND~IP:77.111.254.236:27015 -UOF-UnrealOldFriendsForum
    AsusFormulaV/FX-8350@8x5.0ghz/CustomLoop/MSI-N660TI-PE-OC/KingstonHyperX-8GbDDR3-1600Mhz/KingstonHyperX-SSD120GB/InWin-DragonRider/AntecQuattro1000W
    XFire&Steam:bfgblitz MyMaps

  5. #5

    Default

    Are any other games running well?


    http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownloa...b_win7-64.aspx
    The following notebooks are not compatible with this tool: Notebooks equipped with switchable graphics

    Toshiba« notebooks

    Sony« VAIO« notebooks

    Panasonic« notebooks
    Check the vendor site of your notebook/GFX card.

  6. #6
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bl!tz~ View Post
    weird....did u add or change programs after u restored the pc?: something like a new AV (some AVs like bitdefender just kill the pc performances if the "gaming" mode" isnt actived on some versions)
    did u check if ur gfx driver is up to date on ATI/AMD site?
    Before restore I was using iobit - iobit malware fighter pro, advance system care pro, and smart defrag - but now I'm using Avg 2012 home edition pro (or something like that) and avg pc tuneup 2011...

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    0ld Sk00L,CA
    Posts
    1,057

    Default

    If AVG is running and doing a scan in the background, you will definitely get a performance hit. It just really sounds like your graphics driver is not installed properly.

  8. #8
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by M^vL View Post
    If AVG is running and doing a scan in the background, you will definitely get a performance hit. It just really sounds like your graphics driver is not installed properly.
    When avg is not running a scan, the game's fps is still low...
    I'll try and reinstall my graphics driver as soon as I can.

    To make things more complicated, when I am making maps for ut3 in unreal editor (and test them in editor) it works perfectly fine...
    Thanks

  9. #9
    The Sacrifice
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    199

    Default

    Try renaming your ini folder (rename the folder Config_original). UT3 will restore the generic Config folder and inis. If the problem is fixed then retweak your settings. If it isnt fixed then delete the new ini's and restore the original ones, that wasnt the problem.

    Try disabling or enabling 'One Thread Frame Lag' in video settings.
    Last edited by xeanderthal; 05-08-2012 at 12:03 AM.

  10. #10
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    40

    Default

    When I tried to reinstall my AMD graphics card, st says my computer is not supported.?
    What do I do???
    Thanks

  11. #11
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xeanderthal View Post
    Try renaming your ini folder (rename the folder Config_original). UT3 will restore the generic Config folder and inis. If the problem is fixed then retweak your settings. If it isnt fixed then delete the new ini's and restore the original ones, that wasnt the problem.

    Try disabling or enabling 'One Thread Frame Lag' in video settings.
    Where is my 'ini' folder?
    Thanks

  12. #12
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    131

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rerxx View Post
    Where is my 'ini' folder?
    Thanks
    Should be something like this
    C:\Users\wikkid\Documents\My Games\Unreal Tournament 3\UTGame\Config

    Config is the folder you want to rename.


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright ©2009-2011 Epic Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search vBulletin skin by CompletevB.com.