Skaarj
    Gamer IDs

Gamertag: xJx Sniper2

Default Help with Mesh exploding after applying animation to my character

Hey, I'm new to using UDK and could use some help....

I exported the mesh and animation using FBX Export and this is what happens when I apply the animation to the mesh.

Before:

and this is after....

any thoughts???

I'm at an standstill on a project until I figure this out

Prisoner 849

Quote Originally Posted by frasher00 View Post
    Hey, I'm new to using UDK and could use some help....

I exported the mesh and animation using FBX Export and this is what happens when I apply the animation to the mesh.

Before:

and this is after....

any thoughts???

I'm at an standstill on a project until I figure this out
    Did you export the character first...Then go back to max/maya and apply the animation then export that?
    Or did you create the animation on the character and only export it once form max/maya?

Thirdly, have you tried un-checking anim rotation only ?
    Look at this image,

Anim Rotation only.jpg

Skaarj
    Gamer IDs

Thank you for responding to my post

What I did was export the mesh AND the animation at the same time.... is that a bad thing?

the "Anim Rotation Only" check box was check and I un-checked it and it helped a little. the mesh is still exploded

Should I normally export the mesh and THEN the mesh with the animation?

Also, my team wanted me to ask if there is a specific naming convention the we need to follow for UDK to properly work for the animations regarding the bones for the character?

Quite frankly I feel like there are not enough tutorials for importing animation into UDK properly ...

Prisoner 849

Cool

Thank you for responding to my post

What I did was export the mesh AND the animation at the same time.... is that a bad thing?

the "Anim Rotation Only" check box was check and I un-checked it and it helped a little. the mesh is still exploded