Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    47

    Big Grin Importing Fbx animation to UDK

    Hi, i've done some search on this topic but couldn't get what i am looking for.I hope its sth. that can be done with fbx.I am using 3ds max 2012 atm and have a custom mesh animation that moves jump around and have modifiers on it which deforms the mesh duing the animation.This object don't have a bone at all,which is my quest.Is there any way to import this animation to UDK? I really need it,thank you in advance.

    Regards,
    Barış

  2. #2
    Prisoner 849
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Loch Ness Scotland
    Posts
    981

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bariscan90 View Post
    Hi, i've done some search on this topic but couldn't get what i am looking for.I hope its sth. that can be done with fbx.I am using 3ds max 2012 atm and have a custom mesh animation that moves jump around and have modifiers on it which deforms the mesh duing the animation.This object don't have a bone at all,which is my quest.Is there any way to import this animation to UDK? I really need it,thank you in advance.

    Regards,
    Barış
    You didn't look very well,
    Unreal FBX Importer User Guide

  3. #3
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Hi Lexluthor1,thank you for replying it,i know that document I simply added a 1 bone to my mesh and then exported it and re-import to udk as skeletal mesh,in fbx export setting i baked the animation as well.In the anim sequence i can see my timerange is correct but when i play it nothing happens I am sure i am doing sth wrong somehere but where
    Thank you again!

  4. #4
    Prisoner 849
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Loch Ness Scotland
    Posts
    981

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bariscan90 View Post
    Hi Lexluthor1,thank you for replying it,i know that document I simply added a 1 bone to my mesh and then exported it and re-import to udk as skeletal mesh,in fbx export setting i baked the animation as well.In the anim sequence i can see my timerange is correct but when i play it nothing happens I am sure i am doing sth wrong somehere but where
    Thank you again!
    I don't think that will work because you need a root bone!

  5. #5
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Hmm At least is there any way to workaround for this ? That doesn't require a bone to give the mesh movement and other stuff ? I just want to import the mesh animation

  6. #6
    Prisoner 849
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Loch Ness Scotland
    Posts
    981

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bariscan90 View Post
    Hmm At least is there any way to workaround for this ? That doesn't require a bone to give the mesh movement and other stuff ? I just want to import the mesh animation
    Not as far as I know!

  7. #7
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Ok,thank you very much for the replies Lexluthor1!!
    Have a nice day

  8. #8
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Hey guys.
    I have problem with baking animation in the FBX. I have made animation within 400 frame in 3d max and wanted to bake each 50 frame. But when I setting bake animation from 0 to 50 for example, it export whole 400 frames (all animation). Don't know how can I handle it

  9. #9
    Prisoner 849
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Loch Ness Scotland
    Posts
    981

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Ujastik View Post
    Hey guys.
    I have problem with baking animation in the FBX. I have made animation within 400 frame in 3d max and wanted to bake each 50 frame. But when I setting bake animation from 0 to 50 for example, it export whole 400 frames (all animation). Don't know how can I handle it
    You need to split the animations manually and export each separately because FBX has no way of differentiating between different animations or splitting them

  10. #10
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    31

    Default

    I know it....But how Autodesk forgot about this feature in FBX
    Last edited by Mr_Ujastik; 05-16-2012 at 11:04 AM.

  11. #11
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    31

    Default

    I want to make animtree that when vehicle start moves forward it leans forward and when stop moving it leans back. Thus I have made leaning forward animation and used blendbydirectional, but now don't know how to make lean back when vehicle stops. I've made separate animation with leaning back and link it second blendbydirectional, but don't thinkit will work.

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lexluthor1 View Post
    You need to split the animations manually and export each separately because FBX has no way of differentiating between different animations or splitting them
    I thought that was the whole point of using the Bake Animation From and To range? What do you mean with split the animation up manually? I'm having this issue as well and I'm using 3DS Max 2012.

  13. #13
    Prisoner 849
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Loch Ness Scotland
    Posts
    981

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by McGreed View Post
    I thought that was the whole point of using the Bake Animation From and To range? What do you mean with split the animation up manually? I'm having this issue as well and I'm using 3DS Max 2012.
    I thought that description was obvious...Each animation needs to be exported on the timeline on its own...So say its a walk anim, export that and then clear the timeline, then load your next anim and export the same way!

  14. #14

    Default

    Hmm, well I was kinda hoping that I was misunderstanding. There gotta be an easier way to do this, without have to save and load animations. I thought it might be possible by using the Time Configuration and set the Start and End time to the frames you wanted to export, but it still exports the whole animation.

  15. #15
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    175

    Default

    You are right McGreed. Setting the Animation bake range in the FBX exporter dialog used to work in older versions i remember using it. However in July version, it imports the entire animation no matter what settings...


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright ©2009-2011 Epic Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search vBulletin skin by CompletevB.com.