Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 121 to 160 of 166
  1. #121

    Default

    @nabiul, try looking at the default rotation of the character or the player start. When I used this TFP some time ago, I recall I had some problem of the character not looking correct. I think I may have given a small non-zero rotation to correct the issue. Hope this helps

  2. #122
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    305

    Default

    It's going to the reference pose for my character because my idle animation isn't 'doing enough stuff'. If I use an animation like walking forward for idle, it works fine. When it goes to the reference pose though, the collision box for the gun moves up and down showing that my idle animation is playing.
    Last edited by nabiul; 10-23-2012 at 11:25 PM.

  3. #123
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    313

    Default

    Thanks, slowJusko! Great Work!

  4. #124

    Default

    neither can I it seems to be down

  5. #125
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    Been a crazy month and a bit.
    Will see about getting a more permanent home for the demo soon.
    Kris Redbeard
    GROUND BRANCH
    Mature Classic Tactical First Person Shooter
    Rule #11: Always cheat, always win. The only unfair fight is the one you lose.

  6. #126
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    127

    Default

    For the life of me I cannot figure out how to increase the movement speed of players who are ironsighting. How does one do this?

  7. #127
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Kiev, Ukraine
    Posts
    560

    Default

    Ray Jones 312, check code, where ironsight is handled, and look how GroundSpeed is changed. If it is set to certain value, change this value, if it is set to another variable, find this variable in default properties and change it.

  8. #128
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    127

    Default

    @lentinant
    Thanks anyway, but believe me when I say I've tried that. I see no modification to groundspeed relating to ironsighting in either his pawnclass, playercontroller, master weapon class, or inventory manager.
    Last edited by Ray Jones 312; 12-16-2012 at 03:36 AM. Reason: Fixed so I'm no longer talking to air

  9. #129
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ray Jones 312 View Post
    @lentinant
    Thanks anyway, but believe me when I say I've tried that. I see no modification to groundspeed relating to ironsighting in either his pawnclass, playercontroller, master weapon class, or inventory manager.
    There is, but the check is under tfpPawn::IsRunning() & tfpPawn::IsWalking().

    In SetWalking, if the player is NOT running, GroundSpeed is multiplied by 0.35.

    tfpPawn.uc
    Code:
    /*
    IsRunning
        Return true if we are running... which at the moment is true so long as we're not aiming.
    */
    simulated function bool IsRunning()
    {
        return (bWeaponAiming == false);
    }
    Code:
    /*
    SetWalking
        KRIS - Used to toggle sprinting and set ground speed.
    */
    event SetWalking(bool bNewIsWalking)
    {
        local vector X, Y, Z, Dir;
        local bool bWasSprinting;
    
        bWasSprinting = bIsSprinting;
    
        if (bNewIsWalking != bWantsToSprint)
            bWantsToSprint = bNewIsWalking;
    
        // if don't want to sprint anymore, clear bNeedToReleaseSprint
        if (bNeedToReleaseSprint && !bWantsToSprint)
            bNeedToReleaseSprint = false;
    
        GetAxes(Rotation, X, Y, Z);
        Dir = Normal(Acceleration);
    
        // only switch to sprinting if not strafing and moving forward
        if (bWantsToSprint && !bNeedToReleaseSprint && (Physics == PHYS_Walking)
         && !IsTimerActive('ChangingWeaponsFinished') && !IsTimerActive('PickupFinished') && (Abs(Y Dot Dir) < 0.5) && ((X Dot Dir) > 0))
            bIsSprinting = true;
        else
            bIsSprinting = false;
    
        // just starting sprinting?
        if (bIsSprinting && !bWasSprinting)
            // stop aiming
            SetAimState(false);
        
        if (bIsSprinting)
        {
            if (GroundSpeed != Default.GroundSpeed * 1.5)
                GroundSpeed = Default.GroundSpeed * 1.5;
        }
        else if (IsRunning())
        {
            if (GroundSpeed != Default.GroundSpeed)
                GroundSpeed = Default.GroundSpeed;
        }
        else if (GroundSpeed != Default.GroundSpeed * 0.35)
            GroundSpeed = Default.GroundSpeed * 0.35;
    }
    Kris Redbeard
    GROUND BRANCH
    Mature Classic Tactical First Person Shooter
    Rule #11: Always cheat, always win. The only unfair fight is the one you lose.

  10. #130
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slowJusko View Post
    There is, but the check is under tfpPawn::IsRunning() & tfpPawn::IsWalking().

    In SetWalking, if the player is NOT running, GroundSpeed is multiplied by 0.35.

    tfpPawn.uc
    Code:
    /*
    IsRunning
        Return true if we are running... which at the moment is true so long as we're not aiming.
    */
    simulated function bool IsRunning()
    {
        return (bWeaponAiming == false);
    }
    Code:
    /*
    SetWalking
        KRIS - Used to toggle sprinting and set ground speed.
    */
    event SetWalking(bool bNewIsWalking)
    {
        local vector X, Y, Z, Dir;
        local bool bWasSprinting;
    
        bWasSprinting = bIsSprinting;
    
        if (bNewIsWalking != bWantsToSprint)
            bWantsToSprint = bNewIsWalking;
    
        // if don't want to sprint anymore, clear bNeedToReleaseSprint
        if (bNeedToReleaseSprint && !bWantsToSprint)
            bNeedToReleaseSprint = false;
    
        GetAxes(Rotation, X, Y, Z);
        Dir = Normal(Acceleration);
    
        // only switch to sprinting if not strafing and moving forward
        if (bWantsToSprint && !bNeedToReleaseSprint && (Physics == PHYS_Walking)
         && !IsTimerActive('ChangingWeaponsFinished') && !IsTimerActive('PickupFinished') && (Abs(Y Dot Dir) < 0.5) && ((X Dot Dir) > 0))
            bIsSprinting = true;
        else
            bIsSprinting = false;
    
        // just starting sprinting?
        if (bIsSprinting && !bWasSprinting)
            // stop aiming
            SetAimState(false);
        
        if (bIsSprinting)
        {
            if (GroundSpeed != Default.GroundSpeed * 1.5)
                GroundSpeed = Default.GroundSpeed * 1.5;
        }
        else if (IsRunning())
        {
            if (GroundSpeed != Default.GroundSpeed)
                GroundSpeed = Default.GroundSpeed;
        }
        else if (GroundSpeed != Default.GroundSpeed * 0.35)
            GroundSpeed = Default.GroundSpeed * 0.35;
    }
    Wow, that was right under my nose, Thanks!

  11. #131
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ray Jones 312 View Post
    Wow, that was right under my nose, Thanks!
    Yeah, I hate it when that happens to me too :P
    Spend three hours on something, perhaps even find a solution.
    Then someone points out there is a single boolean value you could have changed.
    Etc.

    /facepalm
    Kris Redbeard
    GROUND BRANCH
    Mature Classic Tactical First Person Shooter
    Rule #11: Always cheat, always win. The only unfair fight is the one you lose.

  12. #132
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    62

    Default

    Such a nice job man! Will you share the files anymore?

  13. #133
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    Always.
    Patience
    Kris Redbeard
    GROUND BRANCH
    Mature Classic Tactical First Person Shooter
    Rule #11: Always cheat, always win. The only unfair fight is the one you lose.

  14. #134
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slowJusko View Post
    Yeah, I hate it when that happens to me too :P
    Spend three hours on something, perhaps even find a solution.
    Then someone points out there is a single boolean value you could have changed.
    Etc.

    /facepalm
    Yeah, you scaled the value rather than adjust the integer through subtraction so I was just plainly looking for the wrong things. :P

  15. #135
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Caracas
    Posts
    1,819
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: daimakupikoro PSN ID: lone_vampire

    Default

    hello, tried to download the files from gamefront, but i got 403 forbbiden error, any ideas on what happend with the file ?
    http://vincenzoravo.vrs.com.ve http://www.slaughtermaze.com

    please don't fill my inbox with questions, ask in the forum, the answers will help you and others !!!

  16. #136
    The Sacrifice
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    232
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: Omar0O7

    Default

    @Daimaku: I've no problem accessing the file on GameFront.

    @slowJusko: Any reason in particular you chose to create this with the UT classes as your base instead of the UDK classes (or even higher up the inheritance tree)?
    I actually started to (trying at least) separate your code from the UT dependencies to get a nicer and cleaner package (no more disabling UT stuff or working around UT code for instance) and to use that as a base for my project.
    I'm mainly focusing on the parts that I'd use myself. For instance, no FaceAPI and no differentiation between weapon and attachment. (most of your code that will be intact after I'm done is calculations I guess :P)
    It's not really going smooth though, part of which is because I didn't write the original code
    I don't know if you're actually doing this yourself already??
    Last edited by Omar007; 01-13-2013 at 09:19 PM.

  17. #137
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    Original code was from my tactical FPS project, which did extend from the UDK classes. For the TFP demo, I wanted people to be able to actually play something, so decided on the UT classes. If you look on some my earlier vids on youtube, you'll see the former code in action.

    I've since taken all the work from my project and put it to good use in Ground Branch.

    I do intend to create a new version of the TFP demo sometime in the future, if and when I get the chance to. The updated version will be based on the UDK classes and the 'new project' option. The biggest hurdle I'll have in doing so, aside from time, is getting a basic player model and animations together. They are not something I am even remotely skilled at
    Kris Redbeard
    GROUND BRANCH
    Mature Classic Tactical First Person Shooter
    Rule #11: Always cheat, always win. The only unfair fight is the one you lose.

  18. #138
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    Added alternate download link on the TFP page.
    Hope Mediafire is ok.
    Kris Redbeard
    GROUND BRANCH
    Mature Classic Tactical First Person Shooter
    Rule #11: Always cheat, always win. The only unfair fight is the one you lose.

  19. #139
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Caracas
    Posts
    1,819
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: daimakupikoro PSN ID: lone_vampire

    Default

    thank you slowJusko, mediafire is fine, working rigth, i will take a look a it now.

    thanks again.
    http://vincenzoravo.vrs.com.ve http://www.slaughtermaze.com

    please don't fill my inbox with questions, ask in the forum, the answers will help you and others !!!

  20. #140

    Default

    Wow This looks really cool, Thanks for sharing!

    I am really new to UDK and in the instructions it mentions

    "Decompress to fresh UDK install" I have seen "Fresh install" in a couple threads what exactly does this mean? Sorry for such a noob question, but I can't quite figure out how to get this running to try it out.

    Thanks in advance

  21. #141

    Default

    Wow This looks really cool, Thanks for sharing!

    I am really new to UDK and in the instructions it mentions

    "Decompress to fresh UDK install" I have seen "Fresh install" in a couple threads what exactly does this mean? Sorry for such a noob question, but I can't quite figure out how to get this running to try it out.

    Thanks in advance

  22. #142
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    302

    Default

    A fresh install is one without other modifications. Those threads are probably asking people to do so to avoid any complications that there might be with a installation that have modifications allready.

  23. #143

    Default

    Hey,

    How can i add a custom animation(Like the walking) into your script?

  24. #144
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    In the TFP demo, walking is a blend in the animation tree of idle and run. It checks if the players speed is below a certain threshold and, if true, uses this blend.
    Kris Redbeard
    GROUND BRANCH
    Mature Classic Tactical First Person Shooter
    Rule #11: Always cheat, always win. The only unfair fight is the one you lose.

  25. #145
    God King
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Tegleg Records
    Posts
    4,377
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: tegleg digital

    Default

    very nice work thanks for sharing

    im messing around with the aim and dont understand how you have done it
    can i ask what exactly this does? and how does it fit in with the rest?
    Code:
    // HACK - fix weapon aim
    			if (Weapon != None)
    			{
    				if (Weapon.IsA('tfpWeap_LinkGun'))
    					FocalPoint.Z -= Clamp(32 * (vLen / 256), 0, 32);
    				else if (Weapon.IsA('tfpWeap_ShockRifle'))
    					FocalPoint.Z -= Clamp(16 * (vLen / 256), 0, 16);
    			}
    thanks
    Code:
    We.spazmodicaly.simulate.new.sound.with.technical.equipment.that.is.specificaly.manufactured.for.humans.to.communicate.in.outer.space.Tegleg.manipulates.time.and.space.to.create.new.experiences.to.generate.a.hardcore.database.generation.
    LOOK>> Please ask questions in the forum, NOT a private message <<LOOK
    tegleg.co.uk
    My Tutorials n Stuff
    Games: NEW! Tegs Playground Multiplayer Edition
    Unwheel2 - VCTF Game - Sponic Mesh 3D
    Shh.. dont tell anyone about my android apps.
    will code for money

  26. #146

    Default

    Hello,

    How do you disable the head tracking/faceapi? whenever i compile i get an error about a missing smft32.dll

  27. #147
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    @tegleg: It was fixing the bots aiming too high.
    Can't say that it worked too well

    @Goddler: Search through the files for FaceAPI - can't miss it.
    Kris Redbeard
    GROUND BRANCH
    Mature Classic Tactical First Person Shooter
    Rule #11: Always cheat, always win. The only unfair fight is the one you lose.

  28. #148
    Deathless
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,293

    Default

    hey Kris I'm curious if you've used DX11 tessellation in your Pawns along with your TFP. I myself have a similar true first person and when I use DX11 tessellation it destroys my framerate to like 5fps because of how tessellation automatically keeps making subdivisions the closer you get and the player pawn's meshes are sticking in the camera's face.
    lowering the tesselation factors only gets me pretty much no tesselation for when looking at other pawns (unless I zoom in to an absurdly high level) but since my own pawn is still so close to the camera my framerate is still horrible.
    for 2 days I've tried messing with the shader to reduce the tesselationfactors based on distance but I can't get something that will get me something both nice-looking and framerate-friendly. mind you, I'm only trying to subdivide my models a little bit
    I'm using a reduced NearClip with a value of 5.0, but increasing to 25 didn't fix it either :/

  29. #149
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    No, haven't touched DX11.
    I don't have a DX11 card

    Can you turn off tessellation for an individual object, such as the local players model or is it a one-in all-in kinda deal?
    Kris Redbeard
    GROUND BRANCH
    Mature Classic Tactical First Person Shooter
    Rule #11: Always cheat, always win. The only unfair fight is the one you lose.

  30. #150
    Deathless
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,293

    Default

    well I ended up having to turn off the player pawn's tesselation manually from code via a material param. it's a shame because seeing the guy's hands tesselated would've been the place where it'd be visible the most.
    tesselation is part of the material so it's done per-material, not an all-in deal. however my player pawn and the other pawns share the same materials so I had to do it that way.

    oh well thanks for your input

  31. #151
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    Perhaps it is something you should ask Epic about - controlling max tessellation.
    Kris Redbeard
    GROUND BRANCH
    Mature Classic Tactical First Person Shooter
    Rule #11: Always cheat, always win. The only unfair fight is the one you lose.

  32. #152

    Default

    I've got couple of errors about smft32.dll
    Then I've tried to get in game, and... nothing changed. I mean, I can't see any tfp things and like that. Maybe it's stupid question that I need to press any button? I've checked the bindings but nothing seems to be working.

  33. #153
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    Missing Seeing Machines DLL's.
    Search and comment out/remove any references to FaceAPI.
    Should sort it.
    Kris Redbeard
    GROUND BRANCH
    Mature Classic Tactical First Person Shooter
    Rule #11: Always cheat, always win. The only unfair fight is the one you lose.

  34. #154

    Default

    ill have to create a head for each body everytime? and btw theres a green box on my weapons i cant manage to take it off |: (starting unrealscript and udk noobie D: )

  35. #155
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    313

    Default

    My character's body mesh is all one piece with the head. No problems. There is a bit in tfpPawn that draws the debug cylinder around your gun. I think it's in the part dealing with weapon obstruction. Just comment it out.
    Code:
    while (awake)
    {
           write code():
    }

  36. #156
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Gods Own Country
    Posts
    1,322

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deserteaglex View Post
    theres a green box on my weapons i cant manage to take it off |: (starting unrealscript and udk noobie D: )
    Add the below code in your custom pawn class extended from tfpPawn. Green box and weapon 'obstructed' position will be removed.

    Code:
    simulated function CheckWeaponCollision();

  37. #157
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    ^ What they said.

    A separate head is a valid solution, but you could also use a material or other trick to hide it.
    Kris Redbeard
    GROUND BRANCH
    Mature Classic Tactical First Person Shooter
    Rule #11: Always cheat, always win. The only unfair fight is the one you lose.

  38. #158
    Skaarj
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany - Bavaria
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Can you please update the code for 13-07-2013?
    I get this Error, when i rebuild.

    And so in the Game:

  39. #159

    Default

    Just delete all references to FaceAPI and it should be fine.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk.

  40. #160
    Skaarj
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany - Bavaria
    Posts
    16

    Default

    I'm not sure which files I need to delete. Can you tell me?


 
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright ©2009-2011 Epic Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search vBulletin skin by CompletevB.com.