Results 1 to 26 of 26
  1. #1
    Player Experience Specialist
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Location Location
    Posts
    18,613
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: Fl4k

    Default PC Specs for UDK Have Been Updated: DirectX11 Minimum Specs Added

    Please note the PC specs for the March 2011 UDK Beta have been updated.

    Thank you!

    PC Specs

    Minimum:


    • Windows XP SP2 or Windows Vista
    • 2.0+ GHz processor
    • 2 GB system RAM
    • SM3-compatible video card
    • 3 GB Free hard drive space


    Recommended for Content Development:


    • Windows 7 64-bit
    • 2.0+ GHz multi-core processor
    • 8 GB System RAM
    • NVIDIA 8000 series or higher graphics card
    • Plenty of HDD space


    Minimum for DX11 Development:


    • Windows Vista
    • 2.0+ GHz processor
    • 2 GB system RAM
    • DX11 Graphics Card:
      Nvidia: 400 series or above
      ATI: 5000 series or above
    • 3 GB Free hard drive space
    Last edited by Flak; 03-10-2011 at 03:20 AM.
    Player Experience Specialist
    Stacey Conley
    Epic Games, Inc.

  2. #2

    Default

    Hello

    I am gutted, a few months ago work bought me an EliteBook $3823.96 £2300 so it would be future proof

    It only has 1.60Ghz sad times

    http://www.google.co.uk/products/cat...d=0CFwQ8wIwBQ#

  3. #3
    God King
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Tegleg Records
    Posts
    4,380
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: tegleg digital

    Default

    what are the actual minimum specs to run udk?
    without sm3 support i mean.
    Code:
    We.spazmodicaly.simulate.new.sound.with.technical.equipment.that.is.specificaly.manufactured.for.humans.to.communicate.in.outer.space.Tegleg.manipulates.time.and.space.to.create.new.experiences.to.generate.a.hardcore.database.generation.
    LOOK>> Please ask questions in the forum, NOT a private message <<LOOK
    tegleg.co.uk
    My Tutorials n Stuff
    Games: NEW! Tegs Playground Multiplayer Edition
    Unwheel2 - VCTF Game - Sponic Mesh 3D
    Shh.. dont tell anyone about my android apps.
    will code for money

  4. #4
    Skaarj
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    10

    Default Graphics Card Question

    Epic’s documentation on recommended specifications for Level Designers recommends a dual (2) Quad-Core Xeon Processors and a separate graphics card. However, Intel® HD Graphics 2000 Technology, is integrated into the 2nd generation Quad Core processors (for example the Intel i7-2600K). The Intel website reports this eliminates the need for a discrete graphics card, thus reducing power consumption and system cost. If this is so, is a separate graphics card such as the nVidia GeForce GTX 285 needed? What is the difference between Intel’s HD Graphics 2000 Technology and the nVidia GeForce GTX 285 (1 GB DDR3)?

  5. #5

    Default

    Will earlier versions run on older DX?

  6. #6
    Skaarj
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Tashkent
    Posts
    6

    Default

    to littleclaude: You HP have intel turbo bust technology and 4 cores you don't need to worry about it ))) Good times! In may bad times i work on 1 core Celeron 1.7Ghz with 256K cahe (((

    to tegleg: on any VGA you can use dx sm3 emulation with swiftshader run emressive fast on cpu

  7. #7
    Skaarj
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In a van down by the river
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I just recently upgraded to Windows 7 64... I'm getting scared that my PC isn't good enough? I can't install the UDK getting a missing files error.

    Intel Dual core 2 duo
    4 gig
    GTX570 Gforce

  8. #8
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    277

    Default

    Is the SM-3 compatibility a new spec? Maybe that's why my July 2011 beta won't run. My January 2011 beta runs though.

  9. #9

    Default

    Hello all...

    I am a mac user who is going to switch to PC after much self debate.

    Basically, I make sounds for computer games and wildlife documentaries as well as music. I study digital Musicianship at college here in the UK and am going to be moving on towards either a degree in sound design, music technology or wildlife & Media.

    I bought a book called the game audio tutorial. I gather it runs through the basics of how to program audio and implement audio into a game using UDK.

    Can anyone help me to know whether or not I will be able to use UDK smoothly on The following laptop: http://www.asuslaptop.co.uk/proddeta...d=N55SF-S2342V ( I WILL UPGRADE THE RAM TO 8GB )

    Thanks to anyone who can offer any advice. From what Ive looked at this seems the best option for my audio production needs I just now need to know whether or not the laptop can handle UDK...

    by the way the link to the book is here: http://www.thegameaudiotutorial.com/

    Cheers.

    -Simon

  10. #10
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    249

    Default

    so i can still use udk (new version) on my xp service pack 3, radeon hd6850, 4 gigs ram,
    i just cant use dirext x 11.

  11. #11
    Skaarj
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: Lastcontract

    Default New Development PC

    I'm looking for some quick advice on graphics card options for a new development system.

    We've been toying around with UDK a little bit here and there as we make a transition from our programming and web development jobs to creating our first game. That being said, my 4 year old laptop is just not cutting it anymore and I need some advice.

    I've looked at the min specs on the UDN and I've been looking at a Dell T3500 workstation with 12gb of ram, a quad core Xeon W3550 processor, and right now it's configured with an NVidia Quadro 4000 card. Am I being foolish when I think it would be better for me to purchase a GTX card (as an example, a GTX 560) in lieu of a workstation class card like the Quadro?

    We are still very small, and this is our first game. Even years from now, I can't see the need for a workstation class graphics card. We won't be using Maya, rarely use 3ds Max, more frequently Blender, and UDK and Visual Studio for programming. I think it would be best to go with a high performance consumer card like the GTX so I can both create games and play test them on the same machine. I'm not concerned that it takes me an extra minute to render a character in a modeler program.

    Can anyone add their opinion to this?

  12. #12

    Default

    Yes, get a GeForce card--the Quadro 4,000 is like $2,000 yet the GTX 580 with 3GB of memory is actually faster and only around $600. The performance advantages for Quadro cards would be lost on UDK

  13. #13
    Skaarj
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: Lastcontract

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darthviper107 View Post
    Yes, get a GeForce card--the Quadro 4,000 is like $2,000 yet the GTX 580 with 3GB of memory is actually faster and only around $600. The performance advantages for Quadro cards would be lost on UDK
    Thanks Sir!

  14. #14

    Default

    I was off on the price of the quadro--like $800 not $2,000

    Still, the GTX 580 has more memory and is faster and still cheaper

  15. #15
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    292

    Default

    WOWWW @ pc`s here well i have Intel core 2 quad clocked on 3GHz, 4 gb of ddr 2, some Nvidia graphic card from time of Tutankhamon (no DX11 for me) and same kind of motherboard, well maybe is motherboard a little bit older than GPU , mouse dont work (probably to many enemies in past) so i use tablet. All in one, everything (3DMax,UDK,Moodbox,Photoshop,Premiere) works somehow just dont ask how hahahahah. Cheers everyone!
    Last edited by Boshko Savich; 02-17-2012 at 10:20 AM.

  16. #16
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    36

    Default

    I am having a slight issue. In editor it lags to death, desktop meets min requirements and if I load a demo map and go "play here" runs smooth has hell but in the editor it's a slide show and now the odd part is I downloaded the CryEngine 3 just to see if I could run it cause the min requirements for it are almost double UDK and it runs flawless in editor and game. is there a bug in the current release? Anyone else having same issue?

    Desktop Specs
    P4 Extreme 3.06Ghz W/HT
    2.5GB DDR
    VisionTek Radeon HD2600Pro 512MB 8X AGP (Shader Model 4 card DX10/10.1)

    While not the best it does meet the min and it laggs while editing don't even need a light just make a simple BSP brush and takes up to 2 mins to move it
    "Mother is expecting again, brother is killing again, all I want is for us to be together. It's not everyday you get to meet a new member of the family..."
    Owner of NeoSpawn Games

  17. #17

    Default

    Well, those stats are really really crappy, I wouldn't know why Cryengine 3 would run so well, but with stats like that the performance in UDK is correct

  18. #18
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    36

    Default

    The wierd thing though is its only in editor. I disabled Catalyst AI and it helped some still lags a little but not nearly as bad. I just don't get why it only lags with the editor and not previewing a level ingame or anything and ya I am shocked with CryEngine 3. High Settings Full HDR I get about 30FPS unless I decide to buzzsaw a group of tree's with my gun then it chokes the CPU/GPU. Also it only seems to be with the January build too. I have seen couple other threads with similar issues but they are not for the current build they are for one from last May-April. Hell when I had my old laptop it was an AMD X2 2.4 with 4GB DDR2 and an HD3200 256MB Shared and it ran flawless and the 3200 was an igp and is half the power the HD2600Pro has. It just has me thinking wtf.

    UDK Min
    Windows XP SP3 or Windows Vista
    2.0+ GHz processor
    2 GB system RAM
    SM3-compatible video card
    3 GB Free hard drive space

    CryEngine 3 Dev Min

    System Requirements [Developer]
    • Operating System: Windows XP SP2, Windows Vista SP1, Windows 7
    • CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 2GHz, AMD Athlon 64 X2 2GHz or better (a multi-core processor is strongly recommended)
    • Memory: 2 GB RAM (4 GB recommended)
    • Video Card: nVidia 8800GT 512MB RAM, ATI 3850HD 512MB RAM or better (SM 3.0 minimum)

    See why I am a bit confused here? I technically have a single core if you don't count the virtual from HyperThreading. 2.5GB Ram and a HD2600 Pro which is less powerful then the 3850. I mean I know would have some lag issues but I didn't think I would in an empty space with a single BSP brush while on CryEngine 3 it defaults with an ocean of 30K+ polys moving with HDR on and I have 30+ FPS
    "Mother is expecting again, brother is killing again, all I want is for us to be together. It's not everyday you get to meet a new member of the family..."
    Owner of NeoSpawn Games

  19. #19

    Default

    If it's just January then there must be a weird bug in there somewhere. The editor takes more power than the game anyways though.

  20. #20
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    36

    Default

    I hope it's just a bug. Kind of sad when I can't even move a BSP brush with out it slideshowing on me.
    "Mother is expecting again, brother is killing again, all I want is for us to be together. It's not everyday you get to meet a new member of the family..."
    Owner of NeoSpawn Games

  21. #21
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    249

    Default

    Keiyentai

    turn off lighting view in editor, with large maps it lags a bit of my system with it on

  22. #22

    Default

    Hi all;

    I am looking to get a laptop to some development with the UDK, however I am at a loss to what I should be looking for, from research I am looking at a quad core (at least) 6gb+ or RAM and a dedicated graphic card with Shader (SM3) support.

    Does anyone have an links / ideas of laptops that are worth a look?

    Thanks in advance!

  23. #23

    Default

    At least an i5 processor, ideally a i7. Needs a dedicated graphics card, most laptops use the integrated graphics (Ivy Bridge) and they are very low performance, probably something like a GT640m and up would be nice.

    If you don't need the portability, get a desktop so you can get more power for less cost.

  24. #24

    Default

    Thank you, just need to confirm these Graphic Card have SM3 support so Alienware seems the way to go - cheers!!

  25. #25
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    In Canada with a half-decent laptop that has SM4 support.
    Posts
    168
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: PSN: StingReay1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darthviper107 View Post
    If you don't need the portability, get a desktop so you can get more power for less cost.
    Got my machine for $960; has an i7 and 8GB, as well as a fairly modest DX11 GPU. Runs UDK at a solid 60 FPS.

  26. #26

    Default

    Does UDK run on a Geforce gt 403 with a Intel core i3? :s


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright ©2009-2011 Epic Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search vBulletin skin by CompletevB.com.