Results 1 to 38 of 38
  1. #1
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kindom - England
    Posts
    243
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ronnie42

    Unhappy no directx 2011 march! important

    Hi all tested 2 different machines, both using Directx 11 but when I go into UDK there is no Direct x 11 enable option.

    http://www.udk.com/news-beta-mar2011

    clearly states go to View -> Preferences -> Enable DirectX 11 Rendering

    the option is not there within the location mentioned

    need some support on this, since this is new it be helpful if a admin reply's
    P.M if you want to know anything about my project and feel free to check out my game blog at:

    http://www.moddb.com/games/doom-compile-project Doom 1/2 Compile Project.
    Doom 1 compiled under 1 level
    Doom 2 compiled under 1 level
    Hopefully Doom 1,2 under 1 level someday

    http://www.moddb.com/games/zombieopenworld On/off Udk Resident Evil style project.

  2. #2
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    288

    Default

    Works on mine. It is the bottom checkbox.

    Steven

  3. #3
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kindom - England
    Posts
    243
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ronnie42

    Default

    Not sure what you mean by that.
    P.M if you want to know anything about my project and feel free to check out my game blog at:

    http://www.moddb.com/games/doom-compile-project Doom 1/2 Compile Project.
    Doom 1 compiled under 1 level
    Doom 2 compiled under 1 level
    Hopefully Doom 1,2 under 1 level someday

    http://www.moddb.com/games/zombieopenworld On/off Udk Resident Evil style project.

  4. #4
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    297

    Default

    I can't find it either.

    Says should be here: Unreal Editor

    To enable the DX11 renderer in the editor:
    View -> Preferences -> Enable DirectX 11 Rendering.

    It's not.

  5. #5
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kindom - England
    Posts
    243
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ronnie42

    Default

    Somebody needs a good kick since I have direct x 11 installed on both my machine's, been waiting ages for this just to find its not there
    P.M if you want to know anything about my project and feel free to check out my game blog at:

    http://www.moddb.com/games/doom-compile-project Doom 1/2 Compile Project.
    Doom 1 compiled under 1 level
    Doom 2 compiled under 1 level
    Hopefully Doom 1,2 under 1 level someday

    http://www.moddb.com/games/zombieopenworld On/off Udk Resident Evil style project.

  6. #6
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kindom - England
    Posts
    243
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ronnie42

    Default

    bump, any admins around?
    P.M if you want to know anything about my project and feel free to check out my game blog at:

    http://www.moddb.com/games/doom-compile-project Doom 1/2 Compile Project.
    Doom 1 compiled under 1 level
    Doom 2 compiled under 1 level
    Hopefully Doom 1,2 under 1 level someday

    http://www.moddb.com/games/zombieopenworld On/off Udk Resident Evil style project.

  7. #7
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Belgium, Namur
    Posts
    813

    Default

    I can't say more than that :


    Then restart the editor.
    Sorry for my bad English, it's not my native language.
    ---
    Twitter- LinkedIn - !Portfolio! - !Personnal project : EXIL!

  8. #8
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In 3dfx's crypt
    Posts
    243

    Default

    I haven't got that option, but my graphic card is DX10.1.
    Sorry for my english.
    Waiting glide's reborn! while trying to start to learn to understand how to work with UnrealScript...

  9. #9
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Belgium, Namur
    Posts
    813

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ikifenix View Post
    I haven't got that option, but my graphic card is DX10.1.
    Yeah, of course, you must have a graphic card which support DirectX11 (by Hardware I mean, not only by software) to get all the new dx11 features. Looks like logical...
    Sorry for my bad English, it's not my native language.
    ---
    Twitter- LinkedIn - !Portfolio! - !Personnal project : EXIL!

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    46

    Default

    ronnie42, what Video Cards are you running?

  11. #11
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kindom - England
    Posts
    243
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ronnie42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Froyok View Post
    I can't say more than that :


    Then restart the editor.

    tried that option several times, both my machines are directly directx 11
    P.M if you want to know anything about my project and feel free to check out my game blog at:

    http://www.moddb.com/games/doom-compile-project Doom 1/2 Compile Project.
    Doom 1 compiled under 1 level
    Doom 2 compiled under 1 level
    Hopefully Doom 1,2 under 1 level someday

    http://www.moddb.com/games/zombieopenworld On/off Udk Resident Evil style project.

  12. #12
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kindom - England
    Posts
    243
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ronnie42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kernersvillan View Post
    ronnie42, what Video Cards are you running?
    using Nvidia geforce
    P.M if you want to know anything about my project and feel free to check out my game blog at:

    http://www.moddb.com/games/doom-compile-project Doom 1/2 Compile Project.
    Doom 1 compiled under 1 level
    Doom 2 compiled under 1 level
    Hopefully Doom 1,2 under 1 level someday

    http://www.moddb.com/games/zombieopenworld On/off Udk Resident Evil style project.

  13. #13
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    297

    Default

    Crap. Mine is 10.1 also.

  14. #14
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Belgium, Namur
    Posts
    813

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ronnie42 View Post
    using Nvidia geforce
    Which version/which model/which driver ?
    Sorry for my bad English, it's not my native language.
    ---
    Twitter- LinkedIn - !Portfolio! - !Personnal project : EXIL!

  15. #15
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Middle East - Kingdom of Bahrain
    Posts
    1,376

    Default

    Mine is GTX 580 , driver 266.58, winxp 32-bit.

    I don't see that option too!
    Hamad Al-Hasan
    Gameplay Programmer / Technical Artist
    Portfolio: http://www.alhasanstudio.com/

    Projects: Medieval Zombie Demo - zBioBlow - 2013: Infected Wars


    UDK Version: Feb-2013
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit - Service Pack 1
    Intel Core i7 960 3.2 GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad Core CPU
    12 GB DDR3 Mushkin PC3-12800 998959 (6 x 2048MB) 6-9-7-24 1.65V Blackline
    ASUS Sabertooth X58 LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
    EVGA GTX 580 1.5 GB GDDR5 - Driver Version: 296.10

  16. #16
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In 3dfx's crypt
    Posts
    243

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Froyok View Post
    Yeah, of course, you must have a graphic card which support DirectX11 (by Hardware I mean, not only by software) to get all the new dx11 features. Looks like logical...
    Yes, I know that . I said it because maybe ronnie42's card is DX10 or DX9 card and this is the reason he hasn't got the option.

    No DX11 card = No option to enable it.

    Quote Originally Posted by ronnie42 View Post
    using Nvidia geforce
    What model? There is a lot of gforces.

    Quote Originally Posted by seenooh View Post
    Mine is GTX 580 , driver 266.58, winxp 32-bit.

    I don't see that option too!
    There is not DX11 for windows xp, you need windows 7 (I don't know if there is DX11 for vista)
    Sorry for my english.
    Waiting glide's reborn! while trying to start to learn to understand how to work with UnrealScript...

  17. #17
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kindom - England
    Posts
    243
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ronnie42

    Default

    as far as I can tell its a 8800 GS and it is a directx 11 because checked it on the directx diagnostic tool
    P.M if you want to know anything about my project and feel free to check out my game blog at:

    http://www.moddb.com/games/doom-compile-project Doom 1/2 Compile Project.
    Doom 1 compiled under 1 level
    Doom 2 compiled under 1 level
    Hopefully Doom 1,2 under 1 level someday

    http://www.moddb.com/games/zombieopenworld On/off Udk Resident Evil style project.

  18. #18
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    46

    Default

    ronnie42, the 8800 GS is a DX10 card only. The lowest Nvidia card that supports DX11 is a 430 GT.

  19. #19
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,290

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ronnie42 View Post
    as far as I can tell its a 8800 GS and it is a directx 11 because checked it on the directx diagnostic tool
    8800 GS doesn't support DX 11.

  20. #20
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    46

    Default

    And yes, you will need at least Windows Vista to be able to run that as well.

  21. #21
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kindom - England
    Posts
    243
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ronnie42

    Default

    lol well somebody telling fibs to my directx diagnostic tool since I'm using a Imac with dual operating system, its clearly states it is directx 11 so not sure what to think

    plus would have thought the directx 11 would have been at least a option
    P.M if you want to know anything about my project and feel free to check out my game blog at:

    http://www.moddb.com/games/doom-compile-project Doom 1/2 Compile Project.
    Doom 1 compiled under 1 level
    Doom 2 compiled under 1 level
    Hopefully Doom 1,2 under 1 level someday

    http://www.moddb.com/games/zombieopenworld On/off Udk Resident Evil style project.

  22. #22
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Middle East - Kingdom of Bahrain
    Posts
    1,376

    Default

    Uhh... Well, I guess I have to upgrade then. Damn.
    Hamad Al-Hasan
    Gameplay Programmer / Technical Artist
    Portfolio: http://www.alhasanstudio.com/

    Projects: Medieval Zombie Demo - zBioBlow - 2013: Infected Wars


    UDK Version: Feb-2013
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit - Service Pack 1
    Intel Core i7 960 3.2 GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad Core CPU
    12 GB DDR3 Mushkin PC3-12800 998959 (6 x 2048MB) 6-9-7-24 1.65V Blackline
    ASUS Sabertooth X58 LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
    EVGA GTX 580 1.5 GB GDDR5 - Driver Version: 296.10

  23. #23
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kindom - England
    Posts
    243
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ronnie42

    Default

    I don't really have that option since I'm using a Imac with dual operating systems but last I checked the mac's were supposed to be pretty powerful also not sure about hardware but my directx diagnostic tool does say directx 11 so I can guess that the video card may be wrong if its not supposed to be supported
    P.M if you want to know anything about my project and feel free to check out my game blog at:

    http://www.moddb.com/games/doom-compile-project Doom 1/2 Compile Project.
    Doom 1 compiled under 1 level
    Doom 2 compiled under 1 level
    Hopefully Doom 1,2 under 1 level someday

    http://www.moddb.com/games/zombieopenworld On/off Udk Resident Evil style project.

  24. #24
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,290

    Default

    Dxdiag shows what version of the DirectX software you have, not the hardware level. And Macs aren't that powerful in the GPU department

  25. #25
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    61

    Default

    8800 GS definitely does not support DX11. I have an 8800 GTX and I know for a fact mine does not support DX11. I will be upgrading this weekend to 580GTX or 2 560ti or.... should I wait to see if the 680GTX is going to be faster quieter and use less power as its 20nm tech. I hate buying graphics cards. Too many choices

  26. #26
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kindom - England
    Posts
    243
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ronnie42

    Default

    Darn it, it would have been nice if somebody posted on the main page about this, since all the hype was for nothing and it would have been nice if they actually posted what is compatible since I'd like to see about upgrading but haven't a clue where to start.
    P.M if you want to know anything about my project and feel free to check out my game blog at:

    http://www.moddb.com/games/doom-compile-project Doom 1/2 Compile Project.
    Doom 1 compiled under 1 level
    Doom 2 compiled under 1 level
    Hopefully Doom 1,2 under 1 level someday

    http://www.moddb.com/games/zombieopenworld On/off Udk Resident Evil style project.

  27. #27
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by QuasarTD View Post
    8800 GS definitely does not support DX11. I have an 8800 GTX and I know for a fact mine does not support DX11. I will be upgrading this weekend to 580GTX or 2 560ti or.... should I wait to see if the 680GTX is going to be faster quieter and use less power as its 20nm tech. I hate buying graphics cards. Too many choices
    Don't buy a 580, it's almost twice the price of a GTX480 but for only about 30% more performance.

  28. #28
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kindom - England
    Posts
    243
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ronnie42

    Default

    so for somebody who is slightly out of the loop what am I buying? can't upgrade my mac since part of some weird warranty while going to need to rob a bank for a decent machine

    the irony is I have a fairly decent machine but I need godlike machine cheap
    P.M if you want to know anything about my project and feel free to check out my game blog at:

    http://www.moddb.com/games/doom-compile-project Doom 1/2 Compile Project.
    Doom 1 compiled under 1 level
    Doom 2 compiled under 1 level
    Hopefully Doom 1,2 under 1 level someday

    http://www.moddb.com/games/zombieopenworld On/off Udk Resident Evil style project.

  29. #29
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    46

    Default

    We have updated our download page with the minimum requirements for running UDK in DirectX 11. Our apologies that it wasn't up there before!

    http://udk.com/download

  30. #30
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Legend286 View Post
    Don't buy a 580, it's almost twice the price of a GTX480 but for only about 30% more performance.
    The GTX480 is really noisy according to the reviews.

    edit - Forget I said that. I'm being stupid and forgetting how I built my own system. I'm water cooling my 8800 gtx so I will do the same with the next card I buy so noise is irrelevent.
    Last edited by QuasarTD; 03-09-2011 at 03:05 PM.

  31. #31
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kindom - England
    Posts
    243
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ronnie42

    Default

    good to know but the nividia wasn't very specific since my 8800gs, I would it be a little more clear on what not to go for
    P.M if you want to know anything about my project and feel free to check out my game blog at:

    http://www.moddb.com/games/doom-compile-project Doom 1/2 Compile Project.
    Doom 1 compiled under 1 level
    Doom 2 compiled under 1 level
    Hopefully Doom 1,2 under 1 level someday

    http://www.moddb.com/games/zombieopenworld On/off Udk Resident Evil style project.

  32. #32
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of cheese
    Posts
    782

    Default

    I was just about to upgrade to a GTX570, would anybody say that's not a good option? It's only $350 and seems pretty comparable to a 580 as it's overclocked to just under that performance. Been seeing a good amount of benchmark reviews and it seems a good card but I'd really like to hear otherwise before I spend the money.

  33. #33
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hitpawz View Post
    I was just about to upgrade to a GTX570, would anybody say that's not a good option? It's only $350 and seems pretty comparable to a 580 as it's overclocked to just under that performance. Been seeing a good amount of benchmark reviews and it seems a good card but I'd really like to hear otherwise before I spend the money.
    570 is worth it I guess, but it's the same speed as a 480 with less VRam so it depends...

  34. #34
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    86

    Default

    what about gtx 560 Ti ? is it worth it ? Or should i go for 570 or 580?

  35. #35
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DayanFernandez View Post
    what about gtx 560 Ti ? is it worth it ? Or should i go for 570 or 580?
    Get a 480 if you want the most for your money.

  36. #36
    God King
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Tegleg Records
    Posts
    4,377
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: tegleg digital

    Default

    so how do we have directx 10 if you cant run 11?
    in UDKEngine.ini AllowD3D10 has been replaced by AllowD3D11
    Code:
    We.spazmodicaly.simulate.new.sound.with.technical.equipment.that.is.specificaly.manufactured.for.humans.to.communicate.in.outer.space.Tegleg.manipulates.time.and.space.to.create.new.experiences.to.generate.a.hardcore.database.generation.
    LOOK>> Please ask questions in the forum, NOT a private message <<LOOK
    tegleg.co.uk
    My Tutorials n Stuff
    Games: NEW! Tegs Playground Multiplayer Edition
    Unwheel2 - VCTF Game - Sponic Mesh 3D
    Shh.. dont tell anyone about my android apps.
    will code for money

  37. #37
    Veteran
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Above KillZ, Below StallZ
    Posts
    9,986

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tegleg View Post
    so how do we have directx 10 if you cant run 11?
    in UDKEngine.ini AllowD3D10 has been replaced by AllowD3D11
    not sure exactly what you're saying, but DX10 is not used for anything.
    http://www.ericbla.de http://www.dungeondefenders.com http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warm_Gun http://www.rekoil.com http://www.groundbranch.com

    - Please don't send me private messages asking programming questions, those would be better asked on the Programming forum here. Thanks

  38. #38
    God King
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Tegleg Records
    Posts
    4,377
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: tegleg digital

    Default

    ok fair enough
    all that hype about dx11 and hardly anyone it seems can run it
    never mind
    Code:
    We.spazmodicaly.simulate.new.sound.with.technical.equipment.that.is.specificaly.manufactured.for.humans.to.communicate.in.outer.space.Tegleg.manipulates.time.and.space.to.create.new.experiences.to.generate.a.hardcore.database.generation.
    LOOK>> Please ask questions in the forum, NOT a private message <<LOOK
    tegleg.co.uk
    My Tutorials n Stuff
    Games: NEW! Tegs Playground Multiplayer Edition
    Unwheel2 - VCTF Game - Sponic Mesh 3D
    Shh.. dont tell anyone about my android apps.
    will code for money


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright ©2009-2011 Epic Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search vBulletin skin by CompletevB.com.