Default Static meshes not showing MAY build

Hi, long time lurker on the forum, always meant to sign up but never had the chance up until now. I've been using UDK since the moment it got released but recently switched to Killing Floor SDK (Unreal 2.5) to make some maps and came back to UDK when the may build was released, so not a total noob at UDK

So now the introduction is over, here is my problem:

I just downloaded the may beta build and found tons of new static meshes such as the new mayan ruins (they work fine btw) and new foliage such as big fan leafes and such. My problem is that when I try adding them to my game they don't show up - at all.

They show up fine in wireframe but not in anything else! all the other meshes show up just fine, except these. when I double click the static mesh nothing shows up inside the properties as well, usually it shows the mesh inside of there so you can add collision etc. but it doesn't... unless I click wireframe.

Also when I close the editor the static mesh suddenly appears black in the content browser, I've looked into the material they use and they also show up completely black, so thats the problem. I tried applying a new material to it and it works fine, so the problem lies with the materials...

I've took a few pictures of my problem, I really need this fixing as I was planning on making a simple jungle setting with decent lighting and god rays to show off for my portfolio to get into a different game design course at a different college I'm currently at now so I really needed these. I've gone to college to test the may build there and it works fine! the materials show up fine, the static meshes work as they should but not on my computer. And without the materials working the static mesh looks crap and unusable.