Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Question Offline UDK installation = FAIL

    I downloaded UDK at the library to install at home b/c I don't have internet service where I live. I took it home, clicked the installer, then watched .NET 3.5's bootstrapper look in vain for a server.

    So I went back to the library the next day and got the full install of .NET 3.5 from Microsoft's site, took it home, installed it, then loaded up the UDK installer again only to find it still wants to bootstrap .NET before even giving me a glimpse of an Epic logo.
    How do I get past this?

    BTW I uninstalled all .NET versions from my system before I installed 3.5 which it said to do in the instructions.
    Last edited by ryanzero; 03-22-2010 at 07:18 PM.

  2. #2
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    313
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: NothAU

    Default

    Perhaps see if you can install it to a portable hard drive at the library, then just copy the registry files, and take those+the install home with you

  3. #3

    Default

    What version of Windows are you using?

  4. #4
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    437
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: [PSN] MANDINGA

    Default

    UDK has a lot of online based components like most apps these days. UDK actually crashes if I try to open it offline.
    Playstation Network: MANDINGA

  5. #5
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    In Canada with a half-decent laptop that has SM4 support.
    Posts
    168
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: PSN: StingReay1

    Default

    Stuff like this REALLY makes no sense to me. First of all: Unity3D works perfectly fine offline for me, but (partly due to my **** graphics card that lacks FP32 Render Targets, if it had those, then UDK would start.) UDK just crashes on start. Seriously, having some components that only work with an active connection is seriously screwing over transplants like me who want to get into game development.

  6. #6

    Default

    I think I found the problem.

    I searched my ADD/REMOVE programs list and found that what UDK keeps trying to bootstrap is the .NET 3.5 SP1, which I just found below the main download in the "what others are downloading" section of Microsoft's page. Gotta go home and give it a try.

  7. #7
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    165

    Default

    BTW the new version works off-line.

  8. #8
    Veteran
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Above KillZ, Below StallZ
    Posts
    9,986

    Default

    StingReay: then you'd find that your graphics card doesn't support other required features, and at the very least, isn't anywhere near powerful enough to give you a frame rate that would be considered even "tolerable".
    http://www.ericbla.de http://www.dungeondefenders.com http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warm_Gun http://www.rekoil.com http://www.groundbranch.com

    - Please don't send me private messages asking programming questions, those would be better asked on the Programming forum here. Thanks

  9. #9
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    137

    Default

    the new version doesnt bootstrap .net 3.5 sp1?
    can we do without that to install a udk released game?


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright ©2009-2011 Epic Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search vBulletin skin by CompletevB.com.