Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy/Pesaro
    Posts
    131

    Default [SOLVED] ExampleMap "Press E to place bomb"

    About that message, i was wondering how it work ?
    i've opened the kismet but i've found nothing something like "if Key E is pressed"

    so i suppose it works in conjunction with an UI, but i can't find it.
    also 'cause, usually it pause the game while here the game is running and the message is just on the right side of the screen...

    can some one explane how the ExampleMap "E button input" works ?
    Last edited by MaximilianPs; 01-15-2010 at 06:07 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    i think it works with a Trigger and a ui scene

  3. #3
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany, Alsdorf
    Posts
    440
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: KONSUMIDIOT

    Default

    It's just a trigger volume set as "touch" and a "play announcement". Actually nothing easier.

  4. #4
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy/Pesaro
    Posts
    131

    Default

    yes, but if you didn't press E button you can do nothing !
    the question was: "is it scriptless ? does it use an UI or you can control the E pressure key from kismet ?"
    Last edited by MaximilianPs; 01-14-2010 at 07:26 AM.

  5. #5
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany, Alsdorf
    Posts
    440
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: KONSUMIDIOT

    Default

    So you actually ask how they actually bind E to an action?
    That's the standard key in Unreal, that's actually set in the UTGame.ini I believe.
    Nothing to do with Kismet, everything you "use" is done with "E" in Unreal, if you keep the standard settings.

  6. #6
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy/Pesaro
    Posts
    131

    Default

    Ok now i'm very confused !
    pleas help me to get it 'cause i'm very confused !
    i've made a trigger, a SpotLightTurnable... even if i target the light or the switch it didn't work

    and this one didn't work too

  7. #7

    Default

    I have a doubt similar to this post.
    In my level I have a DOOR that I intend to:
    When I get close to the closed door, some UI scene appears saying: "Press X key to open the door"

    How could I do that? The X key is just an example...it could be any other key or button.
    I know how to do it through take damage, but it┤s not exactly what I suppose to have.

    In Kismet, Im trying to do something like this:

    Trigger (toggle)
    Matinee to setup the door animation

    But I dont know how to show the message "Press X key to open the door" and even how to setup the specific key to the Matinee sequence.


    This idea can be used also to press a button to lift the elevator or even pick up some stuff in the scenario.


    Tks
    Fernando

  8. #8
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy/Pesaro
    Posts
    131

    Default

    The answare is in the Kismet UDK video
    the 2nd video show the Trigger_0 Used -> Toggle [target] -> Light

  9. #9
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany, Alsdorf
    Posts
    440
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: KONSUMIDIOT

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MaximilianPs View Post
    Ok now i'm very confused !
    pleas help me to get it 'cause i'm very confused !
    i've made a trigger, a SpotLightTurnable... even if i target the light or the switch it didn't work

    and this one didn't work too
    You have to remove the instigator from the trigger, in the options from your trigger and toggle make sure "max count" is set to 0.

  10. #10
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy/Pesaro
    Posts
    131

    Default

    indeed now it work
    another problem [SOLVED]

  11. #11
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Also if u do not like the Keys UDK uses for USE or movement or what ever.

    Dwell into your UDK Directory browse to UTGAME search for UTGame.ini or anything similer to this. Take a short browse thru it. one of them i remeber looking at had the letters and what they where used for.

    it was very obvious how they are used as it looked exactly look it does in the control config of UT3 only it was in notepad .

    just Change what ever key u want. Better still instead of making the trigger trigger if the E key is pressed make the the trigger run of a IF_Used like setup. this will ensure that it will not matter what key is set for USE it will work. then u could just add a nice simply control change ui in the game then users can set there keys to what ever they wish later. FOR the text tho some simple Unrealscript would make it so it would not say Press E but it would Dynamically Grab the Key that the user has set for USE and display that instead but don't ask me how to do this as i do not know my self. I just thought i would share how i would have done it.

    I will get there thou in my design project when this happens and i learn it i will right up a TUT on how it is done. My advice for all the SIMPLE problems others run into is to download the BUZZ3d vids and focus on the example level this will give u the Know how to perform basic tasks like your asking.

  12. #12
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    145
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: Robin da Ownage

    Default

    I think it would be easier if you made a class called BombPlacement or something, so you could include it with the actor browser.

  13. #13

    Default

    I usually put another trigger in kismet (using the same trigger actor as your "touched" there) without being attached to anything, trigger count to 0, add a comment to the trigger like "press E to toggle lights" then be sure to hit the "output comment to screen" so when you are within range to press the switch it will tell you.

  14. #14
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Or create a UI Scene with your button prompt text and graphics, opened off Touch and closed off Untouch, for a more professional look

  15. #15
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    61

    Default

    sounds good Grom i might give it a go my self

  16. #16
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    312
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: Black Fang666

    Default

    i have a door that i want to open and close with the trigger, and i copied the kismet from the example map, made sure all the basic stuff like max count and such is correct, but still nothing happens when i press E while touching the trigger. Any ideas what im doing wrong?

    Nevermind, I had aim to interact checked.
    Last edited by AlbinoWarrior; 03-14-2010 at 04:10 PM.


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright ©2009-2011 Epic Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search vBulletin skin by CompletevB.com.