MSgt. Shooter Person

Default Simple UDK-ready 3D models

I'm just learning UDK, and am trying to find some decent 3d models to use in some scene setups.
    Sketchup's 3D warehouse has a handful of decent things, the rest is junk.
    Turbosquid would be nice, except for the prices.

Is there some place I could get simple things, like a street light, or a park bench? I'm building various "scenes" to get the hang of things, maybe eventually show off my skills when they are adequate. No commercial projects.

With that in mind, perhaps there's a good game that the models could be extracted from to toy with? It'd be nice if all unreal games' assets could be imported, but as I've read time and again, there's no way to properly do that. Baffling...

So, any suggestions? I feel capped out on my learning quota. Only so much the brain can handle, Maya and 3DSMax would give me a stroke.
    Thanks in advance!

There are many sites out there if you wade through google, I like www.sharecg.com

Banned

Show off your skills using other's people work? So what are your skills, exactly?

MSgt. Shooter Person

Imagination. Game design. An eye for lighting and composition (I'm really looking forward to digging into Matinee)

The skills that I have no qualms about saying I don't have are mathmatics and learning new syntax. I'm also terrible at foreign language, and scripting is like a mathmatical foreign language.

The only reason I'm looking for 3D models is so I can learn and experiment with UDK, to know what it's capable of, and what I'm capable of with it. THEN I start a real project, and find people to work with who can model and/or texture- do the things I'm just not talented at.

Now, if I could export from Zbrush to UDK with no middleman, I wouldn't have as much trouble. Maybe someday they'll code a damned plugin for that.

MSgt. Shooter Person

Oh, and thanks for the link, Wektis, I'm digging into that now.

MSgt. Shooter Person

Turbosquid has a ton of free models