Default Help creating new weapons

Hello everyone,

I've been messing with the UDK for some days, watching tutorials and stuff, but I'm stuck when trying to create a new weapon.

I reckon it must be so easy no one ever writes about it. I've stumbled onto weapon tutorials, but some are confusing and other lack information. For the time being, I just wanted to know how creating weapons work in UDK.

By the way, I'm a programmer myself, so I'm familiar with object-oriented languages and stuff. So probably I'm not seeing something right beneath my eyes, so I'm here asking for help.

How could I just instantiate a new pickup and weapon extending an UT weapon(like link gun, rocket launcher), using their same meshes, so I can play with their variables a bit? So far I can create an extended class, but it spawns with no mesh.

I'm programming with Visual Studio with nFringe plug-in, and when creating an UT Mod Weapon, it creates 3 files, the uc, an ini and a int. I can't find the same files for existing weapons, are they necessary, how they work?

Thanks for any help =) I pretend to make a proper tutorial covering each and every step needed after learning how to do it.

MSgt. Shooter Person

Preamble: I will probably restate some things you already know, but I'm trying to be more or less complete. Note that I have nFringe, but have not tried creating a 'project' as you described; I make script files and stuff manually.

First, see http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/Weapo...icalGuide.html for some information on what happens behind-the-scenes with weapons, and where stuff goes in the code and how it is called.