Question Loading C++ code in UDK

Hi,

I'm new to UDK I'm currently evaluating this engine for a project and I'd like to load some simulation code I have in C++.

Looking at the documentation I found some old document explaining how to load external C++ as DLL and calling it as Native Function.
    http://udn.epicgames.com/Two/NativeFunctions.html

Is this possible on UDK or was only available of old version of Unreal Engine with public source code?

Thanks a lot for your help

MSgt. Shooter Person

Not possible. That feature is what separates the licensee's from the UDK license.

MSgt. Shooter Person

There is a hack you can do to partially get around the problem. By setting up a second executable on the local machine that is listening you can send it requests via TCPLink. It then executes your code and returns the results. It's slow, inefficient, and not suited to a lot of tasks but might work for you.

I myself am very disappointed that we cannot run our own independent or 3rd party code as it makes several game types and non-entertainment applications virtually impossible to write effectively or poses an impractical level of porting from existing, tested, and optimized code into unrealscript.

MSgt. Shooter Person

It would be nice if we got a pre-built sdk (like havok and physx do) that we could use with c++ and extend via plugins.

MSgt. Shooter Person

Would have been nice if there where a lib and some header files for making external dll's (even limited, but executed by the game) like if dll exists "mymod.dll", then execute it and have like 4 functions in there like maybe

on_load()
    on_unload()
    on_update()
    on_render()

And where you have access the basic stuff like materials, network, scripting and such from this lib/header stuff.

But i guess, even in a limited way, it would be giving away too much