Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    near Chicago, IL
    Posts
    675

    Default Attaching a pickup to a mover

    Hi all.

    I'm trying to place a pickup (like a health keg or whatever) on a mover. I can't seem to get the pickup to move when the mover... moves.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,113
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: McBrightside

    Default

    I'm not sure if you can attach a health keg to a mover, but I know you can with the powerups.

    In the powerup's properties go to the "Attachment" attribute. Put the mover who's ID is what you want it sticked too where it says "Base". Check off "bHardAttach".

    There you go, that should do it.

  3. #3
    Palace Guard
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    S. Florida
    Posts
    3,290

    Default

    I'm confident Void has already tried that. Void, Empty and Oldie had this problem on Skyscraper. They were trying to attach a Deemer to the crane. I believe they were not able to do it before the map was completed, and so just had the Deemer pop in and out of existence when the crane reached full deployment. I do think though, that a solution was found by Snarf. Snarf isn't really around anymore, but if you ask Empty or Oldie, I bet you can track down the solution to your problem.

  4. #4
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,113
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: McBrightside

    Default

    Oookay then..

  5. #5
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    near Chicago, IL
    Posts
    675

    Default

    Holy crap, no that actually worked. I had forgotten all about the base/hard attach thing.

    Thanks Jagnot. And thanks Brett. I'll keep an eye on the effect to make sure there are no weird side effects, but it all seems gravy for right now!

    EDIT: Nevermind. That seems to work until I cook it, and then the Base property goes back to "none"

    EDIT2: Alternatively, is there a way to not have the powerup show up for the first, say, five minutes, and then pop into (and stay in) existence?
    Last edited by TheVoid34; 07-27-2009 at 12:38 AM.

  6. #6
    Palace Guard
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    S. Florida
    Posts
    3,290

    Default

    Open up Skyscraper and look at how they did it. It may be as simple as a five minute delay and a Toggle.

  7. #7
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    near Chicago, IL
    Posts
    675

    Default

    Nah, no help. In Skyscraper, it is invisible until the pickup spawns, and then it shows up. There's a Pickup Status Change event in Kismet for that. When it's available, they have it show up.

    What I want is the pickup not to be there (seen or pickup-able) for the first five minutes or whatever. They can beam down from the sky (hence the original question), or just appear, doesn't matter. But I'm not sure how to do either one.

    With the Toggle Hidden action, I can make the pickups invisible, but if you run over them, you still pick them up. The straight Toggle action doesn't seem to have any effect.

  8. #8
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,009

    Default

    Try change collision with toggle hidden.
    My maps: CTF-GRD-Pulse_AE | Vehicle Catapult | TargetPractice Training Map
    Kickin ass for UTForce
    UT3 (PC): Superking15
    PSN: Superking14

  9. #9
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    near Chicago, IL
    Posts
    675

    Default

    That worked! I mean, so far. lol
    But still. Thanks! I'll post back in here if I find a way to break it. XD

  10. #10
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,009

    Default

    No problem. It is always fun to know more about mapping than a person who started a year before you
    My maps: CTF-GRD-Pulse_AE | Vehicle Catapult | TargetPractice Training Map
    Kickin ass for UTForce
    UT3 (PC): Superking15
    PSN: Superking14

  11. #11
    Palace Guard
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    S. Florida
    Posts
    3,290

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Superking17 View Post
    Try change collision with toggle hidden.
    Very clever! Well played sir.

  12. #12
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    328

    Default

    They did this in VCTF-Rails in the official maps...on the boat in the middle, just check that out

  13. #13
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    near Chicago, IL
    Posts
    675

    Default

    Superking, I knew I liked you for a reason! ha


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright ©2009-2011 Epic Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search vBulletin skin by CompletevB.com.