Results 1 to 27 of 27
  1. #1
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    373
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: davidrj

    Default How to reduce ping?

    I mostly play in the mornings, so most servers that are active are usually from another country, and thus high ping.

    Is there a way to reduce ping? I just upgraded from 5 Mbs/s to 16 Mbs/s on my cable modem and I don't notice any change in ping?

  2. #2
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    38

    Default

    ping is the amount of time for a chunk of data to go from your comp, to the server and back, you can increase your bandwidth to 1000000mb/s but your ping will stay the same.

    the bandwidth amount will reduce the lag during intense data transfer, such as downloads, lots of players in a game of UT3, or even just browsing the web. it will not however reduce the slight latency you get in a game.

    you can change the service provider, or the type of service (cable/dsl/fiber optic/etc) to change the ping (need to do research to find out which one is the fastest in your area)
    but even then, your ping is half based on who is hosting the game/download/website. so the change may not even be noticeable.
    Last edited by Demogerg; 05-13-2008 at 12:26 AM. Reason: typo

  3. #3
    Skaarj
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Or to put it in a different way, there are many factors that effect ping. There is only so much you can do, but you have to make sure your end is good. After that options get more drastic.

  4. #4
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    585

    Default

    You're in Wisconsin, right down the road from all the Chicago servers. You don't have the right to complain.
    [PC Version] Send your friend requests to: hinterland
    [PS3 Version] Send your friend requests to: hint-korp

  5. #5
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    399
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: NinjaSpecter

    Default

    Well, I'm from Saskatchewan.

    'nuff said.
    Chuck Norris walked into a Burger King.

    He walked out with a Big Mac.

  6. #6
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    633

    Default

    There is, or was, a very expensive NIC card you could buy, that was advertised as being optimized for minimal ping. It probably would shave a few microseconds off, for a couple hundred dollars.

    Yeah, this one

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833342001

    Wow the reviews on that thing look really terrible...

    I do think some NICs/modems will give you slightly better pings than others.
    Last edited by dickbird; 05-13-2008 at 02:34 AM.
    My wonderful Youtube videos of this nonsense
    Awesome music

  7. #7
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    89

    Default

    There is a service called gamerail that routes your data on a special network for gamers which can drastically reduce your ping but I doubt it works to Europe. You might want to look into it though.
    Last edited by j0j081; 05-13-2008 at 08:12 AM.

  8. #8
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    196

    Default

    On ADSL Lines - there is a feature called FastPath - which drastically improves the ping times. ISP's usually charge for it in Europe though.
    MSI P965, Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz CPU, 4GB Ram, Nvidia 8800GT Zotec Overclocked, Creative X-Fi XTreme Gamer, 640GB SpinPoint F1 HD.
    Using the KISS Principle: Keep It Simple Stupid - Most stable System Ever running KUbuntu 8.04 !
    Sadly - I have to keep Windows XP to run UT3 - as no Linux Client exists !
    5 Infractions so far - all about Linux ! more to come ...

  9. #9
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,384

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Haley[ACS] View Post
    On ADSL Lines - there is a feature called FastPath - which drastically improves the ping times. ISP's usually charge for it in Europe though.
    Correction, only in Germany they charge for it.

    In the rest of Europe it's quite standard to have fastpath, you just get it, always, no matter what.

    I dunno how this is in the US.

    Upgrading your connection to get more data a second will ofcourse, never give you lower your ping. Except maybe if you upgrade from a 56k connection
    You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of conversation.

  10. #10
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    633

    Default

    good lord

    In my part of the US, the approved method is to harangue and wheedle your ISP into getting somebody at the phone company to punch the requisite button for you.

    Which I will be doing later today.
    My wonderful Youtube videos of this nonsense
    Awesome music

  11. #11

    Default

    To reduce ping you need to make sure that
    -you have a good router
    -good quality cables
    -A top quality faceplate to filter the phone and data trafic.
    -Interleave off
    -An ISP that caters for low latency, and minimises the number of internal hops.

    If you use BT in the UK, it'll esnd your signal through internal intermediaries - and the whole signal from your PC to the server will be 14 hops.

    If you use a smaller more specialist provider, there will be only 8 or so hops, which is a lot better.

  12. #12
    Boomshot
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    beyond the event horizon
    Posts
    2,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drjacobs View Post
    I mostly play in the mornings, so most servers that are active are usually from another country, and thus high ping.

    Is there a way to reduce ping? I just upgraded from 5 Mbs/s to 16 Mbs/s on my cable modem and I don't notice any change in ping?
    Who is your provider? Cable is slower than fiber optics. Sometimes there is small print on service that states, "this is a best effort service for connection quality and speed." If many users are on the same line, it slows everything down if the providers network is poor. Can you try another provider? Is FIOS available in your area?

    Make sure your system is fast enough to make ping matter. Does it play well in instant action?
    Make sure your LAN driver is up to date, integrated LAN on many boards has been an issue.
    Make sure your not running any background processes including antivirus, spyware, and spambots.
    Make sure your cable modem is new, fast, and on the list of supported modems.
    I usually play as [T5K]Bobba_Novis, {T5K}Bobba_Novi, Gi_96, Ph@t-Ass-Fr3d, infected_brains, or ________
    My Rig- ASUS Z68, core I7 2600K @4.2Ghz and GTX780 as seen on my VG248 @144Hz

  13. #13

    Default

    this is the whole advantage of so called client side games - your computer is the one that registers whether or not you hit the opponent not the server in client side. The big problem with client side is its so easy to hack a cheat! Thus Epic chose server sided hitscan. In the end its the right choice but makes ping super important. I have similar problems at times - the guys playing on a t3 line almost always rule. OTOH it can give you some advantage if you continuously hop about your lag effects where your opponent sees you so they also have a hard time hitting you. When ping is high try warfare maps as everybody is lagging on a full warfare server making it more fair.

    P.S. if you can get in touch with the game server sysad they can get mods that add ping to everyone to even things out but lots of folks hate this.

  14. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    138
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: PSN/PC:Harmerty

    Default

    move next door to the person hosting the game!

  15. #15
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    821

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tWc_Harmerty View Post
    move next door to the person hosting the game!
    This generally won't help that much either: your connection has to go from your system to your ISP to his ISP to him and back. Depending upon the routing that your and his ISP are using, it is possible to get lousy (or good) pings even to your next door neighbor.

    Routing is everything and not merely the number of hops between source and destination. If there is a bottleneck in the routing somewhere along the way, you're screwed no matter what you or your ISP do. One of our clan members in Houston, TX, has been contending with crappy routers in Dallas for years now.

    I've been telling him that faster broadband, changing ISPs, etc won't help -- he needs to nuke Dallas, so the Houston routing will bypass it. Being a redneck TX Republican, he keeps focusing on guns as his "right to bear arms" instead of nuclear armaments, as are appropriate in this case. As a UT player, he should know that guns are so 18th century, but as a Republican he thinks the new fangled invention called the wheel is the devil's work.
    CPU: Intel Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3.0GHz | Motherboard: EVGA nForce 680i SLI | CPU HSF: Zalman 9700LED | RAM: 4x2GB G-Skill Pi Black PC6400 | GPU: 2xEVGA 8800GTX ACS³ KO - SLI | Sound: onboard | PSU: BFG 1000W | Case: XClio Windtunnel | Monitor: 22" Samsung SyncMaster 226BW | Keyboard/Mouse: Logitech G15/G7 | Win7 Home Premium

    As gamers, playing games is our second-most favorite hobby. Our most favorite is, of course, complaining about games.

  16. #16
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    373
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: davidrj

    Default

    I talked to linksys and they recommended buying the WRT330N gaming router shown here

    http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...=3266536001B05

    Do you think this will reduce ping?

  17. #17
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    48

    Default

    another yet drastic way to reduce ping which no one has mentioned yet is to simply rent your own game server as close to home as possible (prob chi town for you) BUT, thats not all of it. you also would want to rent from a "higher end" server rental company which does not limit the server tic rate. Renting from these company's is more money, but in the end you get a much better quality server, along with the fact that you will be able to set your server tic rate how ever you want. 99% of all ut3 server are running at 30 tic rate, and are locked in at this number, if you greatly increase your tic rate, the ping will go down.

    but like i said, thats a drastic way, and really only recommend it if you have a and or are in a clan.

  18. #18
    Boomshot
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    beyond the event horizon
    Posts
    2,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drjacobs View Post
    I talked to linksys and they recommended buying the WRT330N gaming router shown here

    http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...=3266536001B05

    Do you think this will reduce ping?
    If your not currently using a router, adding one will not help.
    If you are currently using a router, you can test if it is slowing you down by removing it and connecting your game box to the cable modem.
    If you are currently using a router, you should disable your windoze firewall to see if that helps. You do not need 2 firewalls and the windoze software firewall itself should not give you a warm fuzzy feeling in any case.
    I usually play as [T5K]Bobba_Novis, {T5K}Bobba_Novi, Gi_96, Ph@t-Ass-Fr3d, infected_brains, or ________
    My Rig- ASUS Z68, core I7 2600K @4.2Ghz and GTX780 as seen on my VG248 @144Hz

  19. #19
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    286

    Default

    a router would help if:

    you have a poor wireless signal
    the router prioritises gaming packets

    a router will not help in any other situation. the prioritising gaming packets only has any affect when you are downloading/uploading whilst playing.

  20. #20
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    122

    Default

    Run Tracert to the Server you play on. That will tell you where the issue is.

    Windows cmd
    tracert serverip

  21. #21
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    212

    Default

    I'm also bugged by ping times since I moved to my parents place for the summer and have a crappy ADSL 512/512Kbit line atm and I called my ISP to turn off "interleaving" mode and it only helped a little like 10 ~ 20 ms. I have 1/1Mbit fibre when I study and live at a dorm and always had nice ping on almost any european servers, even fast UK servers provided ~60 ping in UT3 despite I live in Finland.

    With this DSL connection the ping times quickly rise depending on distance, seems Finnish and Swedish servers would probably give me a good ping (dunno really cuz haven't seen any lately) and some NL servers might give 75 or so but then it's almost impossible to get below 100 ping currently, often I play with 100 - 150 ping on european servers now when being used to 60 - 100 ping on the same servers.

    Now friends tell me "fullrate" might improve ping since my friends with this fullrate adsl speed 8/0.8Mbit (and some 24/1) have usually better ping than me and think the ISP uses another better "routing" and equipment for fullrate users. If that's the case then I guess it could be plausible... I get 30 ms ping for pinging the ISP servers currently and around 40 ~ 45 ms most often pinging some random finnish DNS's and IPs and for instance NL IPs around 70. But then it usually adds a lot more ping when playing a game online too.

    It bugs me seeing people with as low as ~35 ping in UT3... if I had that I'd hit almost everytime. A couple of days ago I managed to get around 70 ping on a 100Mbit NL server and I was like "omg it's so much easier to hit again". Spammed with shock rifle almost all the time since even primary fire seemed to hit like 7 out of 10 times. lol At >80 ping it's noticable more difficult to hitscan and at >100 it's like you start prioritizing other weapons... I yet wonder how it would be like playing with <50 ping if I get superb aim already with 60 ~ 70 ping.

    For pub gaming I'm fine with this ping but for competitive playing on pugs or clan matches it sux with 100+ ping really but luckily I'm playing Warfare and vCTF mostly where you can do fine despite you suck at 1 on 1 fights due to sucky aim due to high ping. Really takes a lot of fun out of it, already missing my fibre connection. :/
    Last edited by RPGWiZaRD; 05-13-2008 at 06:21 PM.
    Intel® Core i7-860 @ 4.1GHz | Gigabyte GA-P55-UD5 | G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB @ DDR3-2340 9-10-9-24 | EVGA GTX 280 1GB @ 729/1458/2592 MHz | Corsair HX 750W | ViewSonic VX2268wm 120Hz LCD | CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus | Creative SoundBlaster Audigy w/ kX Audio drivers | Sennheiser HD 212 Pro | Logitech MX™518 Gaming Grade | Everglide Titan MonsterMat | Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit | Windows 7 x64 Professional

  22. #22
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    633

    Default

    Oh god I dream of having 60-70 ping. That would be so wonderful.

    Spent some time yesterday trying to get my DSL account switched to fastpath. My ISP tells me there's some kind of funny attenuation on my line and they can't get fastpath to work because of it.

    The phone company swears their wires are OK and I just have a single piece of CAT6 going straight out to the box.

    I guess it's not to be.
    My wonderful Youtube videos of this nonsense
    Awesome music

  23. #23
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    196

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drjacobs View Post
    I talked to linksys and they recommended buying the WRT330N gaming router shown here

    http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...=3266536001B05

    Do you think this will reduce ping?
    Nah . Stay away from Linksys stuff ... Had only problems in the past - and support is as bad as ... (no comment).
    Get yourself a decent Netgear (DG834GT RouterModem b.e.) which is amazingly fast, easy to setup, and very reliable.
    I have another setup here - as I build up my INternet connection equipment myself with spare parts found outside - however people asking me to help them setup their Internet access - I put that modem (B Model - for German ADSL). With linksys devices - I did spend rather often my evenings at their homes... Since they have the Netgear Modem-Routes - I see them to drink a glass of wine
    MSI P965, Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz CPU, 4GB Ram, Nvidia 8800GT Zotec Overclocked, Creative X-Fi XTreme Gamer, 640GB SpinPoint F1 HD.
    Using the KISS Principle: Keep It Simple Stupid - Most stable System Ever running KUbuntu 8.04 !
    Sadly - I have to keep Windows XP to run UT3 - as no Linux Client exists !
    5 Infractions so far - all about Linux ! more to come ...

  24. #24
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    196

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dickbird View Post
    Oh god I dream of having 60-70 ping. That would be so wonderful.

    Spent some time yesterday trying to get my DSL account switched to fastpath. My ISP tells me there's some kind of funny attenuation on my line and they can't get fastpath to work because of it.

    The phone company swears their wires are OK and I just have a single piece of CAT6 going straight out to the box.

    I guess it's not to be.
    The Splitter boxes the telco companies provide are also a source of bad line quality. I have a 18Mbit/1Mbit ADSL Connection on my place - while my neighbour only manages to get roughly 6MBit - ADSL 1 connection. ADSL2+ shokes out immediatly. Did give him a new Splitter (Had some hanging around) and suddenly he could get 14MBit ADSL2+

    So - check you have good quality hardware all along the path.
    When I'm lucky - I get 45ms on the servers...
    MSI P965, Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz CPU, 4GB Ram, Nvidia 8800GT Zotec Overclocked, Creative X-Fi XTreme Gamer, 640GB SpinPoint F1 HD.
    Using the KISS Principle: Keep It Simple Stupid - Most stable System Ever running KUbuntu 8.04 !
    Sadly - I have to keep Windows XP to run UT3 - as no Linux Client exists !
    5 Infractions so far - all about Linux ! more to come ...

  25. #25

    Default

    Someone was talking about people using multiple connections making 4x the registered hits per one single rocket, i was like ?wtf?

    said he was a server admin and ran his own server and seen this alot it UT2k4

    how valid is this?

  26. #26
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    633

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Haley[ACS] View Post
    The Splitter boxes the telco companies provide are also a source of bad line quality. I have a 18Mbit/1Mbit ADSL Connection on my place - while my neighbour only manages to get roughly 6MBit - ADSL 1 connection. ADSL2+ shokes out immediatly. Did give him a new Splitter (Had some hanging around) and suddenly he could get 14MBit ADSL2+

    So - check you have good quality hardware all along the path.
    When I'm lucky - I get 45ms on the servers...
    Well, I messed around, disconnected absolutely everything off the circuit. Connected the modem directly to the box with 1 CAT6 wire, nothing else hooked up at all. Modem kindly informs me my SNR margin is about 10, Local Attenuation is 57.5 (down from 58 when I started. Yes all my efforts brought it down a whole 0.5 apparently). And so on.

    Talked to tech support again. They said the phone company might be able to switch me to fastpath, but they'd probably knock my download speed down in the process, possibly to something really awful, like 3 hundred some odd. Heck it's only 8 hundred and something now, on good days.

    I'm just going to live with it. Probably the only thing I could do to improve this situation is switch to cable, and I hate the cable company. Also my ISP throws in a great usenet server.
    My wonderful Youtube videos of this nonsense
    Awesome music

  27. #27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Haley[ACS] View Post
    On ADSL Lines - there is a feature called FastPath - which drastically improves the ping times. ISP's usually charge for it in Europe though.
    Fast-Path Compared

    I am in western North Carolina. DSL around here is always set up with "Interleave," which increases pings but has built in error correction. You have to go to the right ISP techie to convince them to switch you to Fast-Path, which has better pings but lacks the error correction. (they have to clear you based upon line noise or you will have instability.) I now have fast-path running on my DSL. Here is a comparison between ping times with Embarq Interleave, Embarq Fast-Path, and Charter Cable Internet (at its fastest). All numbers from speedtest.net.

    ....City..........Interleave...Fast-Path...Cable

    Greensboro........121...........58...........85
    Washington DC...109...........49...........69
    NY, NY...............61...........30...........43
    Atlanta.............148...........85...........32
    Chicago..............74...........42...........40
    Miami.................80...........49...........58
    Toronto.............180..........94..........108
    Los Angeles........121..........96...........69

    What a difference Fast-Path makes! Pings are easily the match of cable. First time I ever played Battlefield 2142 with pings in the 20's!!!!

    I am carefully monitoring for instability but things look good so far.


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright ©2009-2011 Epic Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search vBulletin skin by CompletevB.com.