Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: UT2D Sonic?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    55

    Map - Deathmatch (PC) UT2D Sonic?

    Would it be possible for someone to make a sonic style map with the boosters for the loops and stuff?





    Anyone interested?
    PSN - Noscaasi

    Completed Epic Games: UT2003 (PC), Gears Of War (Xbox360), UT3 (Ps3)

    My Ideas - http://utforums.epicgames.com/showth...8#post25342658

  2. #2
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Unreal Nomad
    Posts
    7,682
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ambershee

    Default

    The loops would be hell. I'm working on an implementation that allows the player to move in such a manner in 3d - but it is extremely buggy.

  3. #3
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    775

    Default

    Loops is a no-go without extra coding for the sake of one map, UT2D is more of a Beta for the camera, etc of Zeeless (or at least that's my understanding of it) so it's not likely to happen.

    A graphically Sonic map will probably show up at some point though.

  4. #4

    Default

    Wonder how they made the loop work back in the day?

    I wonder if the scavenger can make a loop?

  5. #5
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HideInLight View Post
    Wonder how they made the loop work back in the day?

    I wonder if the scavenger can make a loop?
    I think the way it worked was you switched 'layers' when you got to a certain point, so that you couldn't run straight through it. You got (I think) to the top of the loop, then it switched to the 'behind' part of the loop which would allow you to move forward properly again. Yes I love Sonic too, so this would be something amazing to see.
    "If Pigs Could Fly, Then Surely So Could I, But This Pedastrian Knows Better Than To Even Try"

  6. #6
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Unreal Nomad
    Posts
    7,682
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: ambershee

    Default

    Lots of code. In UT3, you would have to completely re-write the player movement code for it to work. For any object.

  7. #7
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ambershee View Post
    Lots of code. In UT3, you would have to completely re-write the player movement code for it to work. For any object.
    Alrighty, just a thought . The Mario UT2D inspired me to post this, oh and my love of sonic :P, thanks for the responces.
    PSN - Noscaasi

    Completed Epic Games: UT2003 (PC), Gears Of War (Xbox360), UT3 (Ps3)

    My Ideas - http://utforums.epicgames.com/showth...8#post25342658


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright ©2009-2011 Epic Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search vBulletin skin by CompletevB.com.