Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 81 to 96 of 96
  1. #81
    Skaarj
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vinnie_PT View Post
    The US are not the center of the universe, wich means not every single computer out there has a DVD drive in it.

    My 2 cents are on a 1 DVD edition with the missing stuff being available through download, leaving those still living with 56K or without internet unable to access this content.

    Yes,Remember that most UT2003/2004 buyers NEVER played online.
    .
    I am sorry, but i beg to differ.
    CD roms are NOT standard no matter what PC you buy. Nobody is stupid enough to have a 2 years or newer PC and dont buy a DVD ROM. If you can afford a high end graphic card you can afford spending 20 $ on a DVD rom.

    Yes many many played UT2003 online. Many played 2004 as well, but not that many because the hardcore 2003 players didnt like that they removed the fast weapon switching. UT99 on the other hand werent that popular because lack of broadband, but this is solved now and broadband is standard in every gamers house.

    Even if you dont have broadband access, epic say they focus on singleplayer as well, so there you have it.

    BTW : im totally going to play this on my linux platform =) I avoid windows as much as I can because I dont like microsofts idea to keep DirectX hidden from the rest of the world.

    Peace out!

  2. #82
    Skaarj
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chu::LOB:: View Post
    Explain how PS3 + Mouse and Keyboard for $500 is a bad idea if $500 worth of upgrades wouldn't get me equal framerate?

    As it stands, I'll have to replace mainboard, CPU, ram, vidcard and PSU. And that looks like about $1,000...
    Then play on PS3 then. In fact it wont matter, but for me that plan on playing this game on a clan/professional basis, I cant play on a PS3.
    The PC needs to output more frames than a gaming console.
    Games on console output 32 frames per second, while I cant play with less than 60 on my PC because im spoiled when it comes to Frames per second.
    So I buy all the new hardware to get the right output.

  3. #83
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    136

    Default

    i love the xb 360 its a great system and so is the ps3 i got the hdtv and suround to make both an excellent experence to play - but ut3 is pc for me all the way man, for me its about as high a lvl of competition modability and hardcore clan gaming as is humanly possible to get i love fooling around with my ini for maximum utillity and refining everything about the game. this just wont be possible on the console to the same degree.

    ps - goobers thx for pointing out my sig needed correcting m8

    cpu-INTEL« Core 2 Duo E6700 (2 X 2.66GHz)-overclocked to 3Ghz. 1066MHz FSB/4MB L2 Cache ram-2048 MB CORSAIR XMS2 800MHz motherboard-ASUS« P5N32-E SLI PLUS Graphics Card8800-768 GEFORCE ULTRA (BFG)Power Supply 850W quiet five rail PSU Monitor-IIyama 21 inch vision master pro ( CRT ) OS-VISTA home premium 32bit
    logitech keyboard-g15 gaming keyboard, mouse-logitech mx1000 laser mouse." [B][SIZE="2"]

  4. #84
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    227

    Default

    Mark Rein pwnts ju all.

  5. #85
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    30

    Default

    I don't see why the 360 version of UT3 can't just "require" the hard drive (or require it for full experience), the hard drive its available for purchase separately. Back in the day, there were games for the NES that "required" the zapper, games for the Super NES that required the super scope... (They didn't help sales, but they weren't games as big as UT3) I know its two different worlds but I hope you get the idea.

    Unless M$ put some kind of restriction against this, that would be the route I would take. Full experience for everyone possible, the game would only play limited content without the HDD, and users could then purchase the add on and experience the game in full. Best of both worlds, across all platforms.

    I don't know what the install base is with the core version of the 360 is, but I don't know anyone who opted for that version.

    Me, I'll be playing on the PC .

  6. #86
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    455

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vinnie_PT View Post
    [expanded for clarification, since some people like to criticize without knowing any facts]

    The US are not the center of the universe, wich means not every single computer out there has a DVD drive in it.
    ....
    Again, the US are not the center of the universe and the rest of the world is very different from your neighborhood, so don't judge everyone else based on your narrow view.
    uhh.....

    Get off your pedestal, you aren't making any sense.
    Last edited by ScottUT; 09-07-2007 at 01:16 AM.

  7. #87
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    1,565

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rein View Post
    I continue to be disappointed that folks on the internet treat any positive thing we say about one platform as some sort of critique of another platform. We're a multi-platform company folks please come to grips with that. We like the PC. We like the 360. We like the PS3. We like the Macintosh. We like Linux. We will deliver UT3 for all of these platforms and it will rock on every one.

    The simple facts state that the optical disc on the PS3 holds more data than the optical disc on the 360. If we exceed size of the 360s optical disc then we'll have to find alternative ways to get the content to 360 users such as making it downloadable. Adding a second DVD to a game like UT3 would be a challenge because when playing online you might not know exactly what map you're going to be playing next and we have to be able to accommodate users of the core system. So does that mean the disc on the 360 might have a map or two less? Possibly although it is too early to tell for sure. People love Unreal Tournament because we always ship it with tons of great content but that also makes it a bit of a disc hog - in a good way

    Obviously, and as is true with most major games on 360 and PS3, you're going to be putting your hard drive to good use if you want to experience the full richness of content that UT3 will have to offer over the lifetime of the game. the fact that you can do this is a good thing.

    I don't know the exact numbers but I suspect the version of Gears of War that most of our customers play today on their 360s, when you combine the downloadable content with the content on the disc, is larger than what we could fit on the 360's optical disc alone. So clearly there are perfectly good strategies to cope with this situation. We're all very used to downloading extra content for console games and with UT3 there will be lots of it for all supported platforms. In fact the cool thing about our engine is that when you make content for one platform it can run on all of them. If history is any indication, the vast majority of UT3 content won't even come from Epic - it will come from some very brilliant end users with lots of cool and innovative ideas.

    When it comes to user created mods on the 360 - we will work with Microsoft to find a way to support them. We just don't have all the answers today and it isn't our chief priority at this very moment because we already have our hands completely full shipping UT3 on PC and PS3 as well as shipping Gears of War on PC. When we get those out of the way, and get a little time to spend with our friends and families, then we'll get back on this issue and figure it out.
    Mark Rein delivers.

  8. #88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by IggMan View Post
    I don't see why the 360 version of UT3 can't just "require" the hard drive (or require it for full experience), the hard drive its available for purchase separately. Back in the day, there were games for the NES that "required" the zapper, games for the Super NES that required the super scope... (They didn't help sales, but they weren't games as big as UT3) I know its two different worlds but I hope you get the idea.

    Unless M$ put some kind of restriction against this, that would be the route I would take. Full experience for everyone possible, the game would only play limited content without the HDD, and users could then purchase the add on and experience the game in full. Best of both worlds, across all platforms.

    I don't know what the install base is with the core version of the 360 is, but I don't know anyone who opted for that version.

    Me, I'll be playing on the PC .

    Because Microsoft is gay and they did put a limit on it. No game can require the hdd. Yet. M$ needs to wake up and stop being tools about this.

  9. #89
    Boomshot
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    2,471
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: MortQ42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by harrier_rada View Post
    No game can require the hdd.
    Why not?
    De gustibus non disputandum

  10. #90
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,920

    Default

    content on 360 because their engine is sooooooooooooooooo different now
    He is correct on this. I know it's not obvious as to how this happens, but as the engine changes we include new data formats, objects have functions removed and added, and network compatability is no longer possible. This is just like the amount of changes that happened between UT99 and UT2003 prevented them from being network/content compatible. When we ship a game, we take a snapshot of the engine at that point in time. The engine continues the development path we have planned out, but the game doesn't. So the two entities diverge enough that they are no longer compatible. For instance, you can't even load one of the art packages from the original Gears in our current engine's editor. The same holds true going in the other direction: current content can't be loaded in the version of the editor that we used to ship Gears.

  11. #91
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Uhmnmm... actually for the next wave of mmorpgs, MS is allowing them to require a hard drive in order to play. I think if you google search ign you'll find an article on that very topic..

  12. #92
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    98

    Default

    360 Hard Drive Required Ok, not ign..

  13. #93
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    243

    Default

    you know, you could just edit the earlier post and add that into it.

  14. #94
    Skaarj
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    7
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: jbirney

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joeGraf View Post
    He is correct on this. I know it's not obvious as to how this happens, but as the engine changes we include new data formats, objects have functions removed and added, and network compatability is no longer possible. This is just like the amount of changes that happened between UT99 and UT2003 prevented them from being network/content compatible. When we ship a game, we take a snapshot of the engine at that point in time. The engine continues the development path we have planned out, but the game doesn't. So the two entities diverge enough that they are no longer compatible. For instance, you can't even load one of the art packages from the original Gears in our current engine's editor. The same holds true going in the other direction: current content can't be loaded in the version of the editor that we used to ship Gears.


    Thanks for the info as that make sense. However we all know you folks are a smart bunch and if you really wanted to you would find away to make it work

    Sadly I probably will have to pass up GOW on the PC until it shows up in the bargin bin. Why? I have already shelled out 60 bucks to by the 360 version as well as spent MS points getting the map packs. The thought of spending another large chunk of change just to get that new experice is just not worth it espically with all the other good games coming out (like your UT3 for example)
    Jb
    ChaosUT

  15. #95
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    112

    Default

    The 360 version is not limited.
    -UT r0x0r.

  16. #96

    Default

    I have a ps3 and a 360 (Will be renting at least for ps3 I didn't have a good experience at all with Gears.) and while I understand where people who only have a 360 are coming from I would really be more concerned about how the game plays than how many maps would be available to me making sure that people using controllers never have to deal with button mappings that cripple the player is of a slightly greater importance. (See Gears of war and what happens when you use anything other than the default stick cofiguration...Lets just say it was absolutely horrible.)

    It sure sounds like the team is trying and I am willing to give them a chance after what I went through with Gears of war; so try not to be so grumpy you have yet to be screwed on this game.


 
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright ©2009-2011 Epic Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search vBulletin skin by CompletevB.com.