Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1

    Default Rocket Launcher...

    Just thinking, maybe it isn't such a great idea to have the rocket launcher have the hold mechanism. Loading up all those rockets and hold them for the perfect shot? I think that would spell a lot of spam, personaly I would prefer the old way of instant fire upon reaching the final loadup. I understand that it helps the user but if you can't time it, don't load it! Just my little rant I guess.
    AMD 3800+ X2 | 2 gigs ddr400 | 160 gb & 400 gb HDDs | BFG 7950GT OC 256 mb | 22" Acer Widescreen | BIG WHITE FAN B****|
    xfire: theedeathmaster..........In game name: DEATHMASTER
    HERE'S MA' PROFILE!: http://www.xfire.com/profile/theedeathmaster/

  2. #2
    Boomshot
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    2,471
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: MortQ42

    Default

    You can't hold them for the perfect shot from what I've read. Where is this information coming from?

  3. #3
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,082

    Default

    Yes you can and its a good idea.. This info came frm the videos.. you can clearly see the rockets are held (only when firing 3 rockets) in the vids.

    Anyway its a good idea.. but i do see your point.. people will pre load the rockets just in case they meet an enemy and they would already have 3 ready to go... still it is handy... and if you do that you wont be able to translocate anywhere unless your fire..
    Keep up the good work Epic!! You guys are the Best!
    My Build: CPU: C2D-E6850, GPU:2xOC-8800ultras, MB: Asus Striker Extreme, 2x 150gb WD Raptor 2GB 8500C5 Ram
    Thank to the Judges and EPIC for the MSUC
    Please EPIC: Patch 2.1, Fix the UI settings not saving
    CTF-Safeguard3 - CTF-Dreary3 - CTF-Stratus V1.2

  4. #4
    Boomshot
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    2,471
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: MortQ42

    Default

    I think willhaven said you can only hold it for a beat... not for long.

    We'll see.

  5. #5
    Boomshot
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    US
    Posts
    2,954

    Default

    Yeah you got about one second to find a target.

  6. #6

    Default

    Ok, some reason I got to thinking it was much longer, one beat is liveable enough. Or not
    AMD 3800+ X2 | 2 gigs ddr400 | 160 gb & 400 gb HDDs | BFG 7950GT OC 256 mb | 22" Acer Widescreen | BIG WHITE FAN B****|
    xfire: theedeathmaster..........In game name: DEATHMASTER
    HERE'S MA' PROFILE!: http://www.xfire.com/profile/theedeathmaster/

  7. #7
    Palace Guard
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3,899

    Default

    i think you can hold them for a second or 2. just the time for you to notice that it's finally loaded and not kill yourself with the instant firing in the wall

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theeDEATHMASTER View Post
    I think that would spell a lot of spam, personaly I would prefer the old way of instant fire upon reaching the final loadup.
    Disagree, many times I find myself letting lose 3 wild rockets because the target has gone, killed by some one else, or just the situation changes making my shot useless and a waste.
    I also find spamming myself, not watching my ammo and only having 1 or 2 rockets left and pre-firing, which is really anoying.

    I would prefer a hold time, say like the charge bar in UT2kx counts down to firing time. Maybe 30 secs or so.
    Or maybe a count down to overload, blowing up in ya face.

    UT99 rocket hold, with a short wait.
    Last edited by ProjectUT; 07-12-2007 at 09:29 AM.
    Yeap, nothing hare!
    I cant' splel eother.

  9. #9
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    6,933

    Default

    I always load 2 rockets on my way to the Manta/Raptor, so that I instantly fire a threat at my opponent when I need to get out of the Manta/Raptor.

    With possible 3 Rockets in UT3 it is even more dangerous.

  10. #10
    Boomshot
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    2,471
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: MortQ42

    Default

    http://forums.epicgames.com/showthre...1#post24805361

    Quote Originally Posted by -=¤willhaven¤=- View Post
    You can hold onto 3 rockets for a quick moment. Pretty much enough to realize they have loaded and to aim them where you want them to go before you accidentally shoot them all into a wall.
    Just thought I'd post that 'cause I'm avoiding real work.

  11. #11
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Latvia, Riga
    Posts
    168

    Default

    What about if you have two rockets loaded and theres no more ammo? Will it instantly fire like it did in previosly?

  12. #12
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    619

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pendrokar View Post
    What about if you have two rockets loaded and theres no more ammo? Will it instantly fire like it did in previosly?
    I think the rocket launcher just explodes.

  13. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,414

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ProjectUT View Post
    Disagree, many times I find myself letting lose 3 wild rockets because the target has gone, killed by some one else, or just the situation changes making my shot useless and a waste.
    I also find spamming myself, not watching my ammo and only having 1 or 2 rockets left and pre-firing, which is really anoying.
    These are all examples of not using the weapon within its designs. The fact you waste ammo is a tactical tradeoff you make when you decide to load more than one rocket. It's simple risk versus reward. Pre-firing due to ammo is just you not watching the ammo count. Killing yourself in this way is just a compound mistake.

    The RL is fine the way it is. But it won't play the game for you to keep you safe and happy.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    2,104

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pendrokar View Post
    What about if you have two rockets loaded and theres no more ammo? Will it instantly fire like it did in previosly?
    It would act as if it had loaded three rockets. It would pause the same way for a quick moment.
    "I are serious developer. This is serious post."
    Phil Cole
    Pixel Pusher
    Epic Games

  15. #15
    Boomshot
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Denial
    Posts
    2,338
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: Sweet2th

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=¤willhaven¤=- View Post
    It would act as if it had loaded three rockets. It would pause the same way for a quick moment.
    so no more kamikazee for those of us too blind to look at our ammo? SWEET
    Quote Originally Posted by -=¤willhaven¤=-
    He says "B__ch! Get away from my ride! Owned."


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright ©2009-2011 Epic Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search vBulletin skin by CompletevB.com.