Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Memory Program?

  1. #1
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    70

    Default Memory Program?

    I only got 128mb memory and can't afford to buy another right now for several reasons. UT2K4 loads very slow... Is it good to use a memory program? any advice what program i should use? thanks.

  2. #2
    Palace Guard
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3,899

    Default

    no background programs, uncheck preload player skinns and text-to-speech

  3. #3
    Iron Guard
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    759

    Default

    As it's on the topic of memory..... I'm getting a gig of 3200 ram in the next week or so. what difference would this make? would it just be level load-times?

  4. #4
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    475

    Default

    It will make everything better, to include general game-play. You eill not encounter swapping at all, whereas even with 256mb of RAM you do.

  5. #5
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,306

    Default

    The are a bunch of programs that clear memory inside Windows but if you already have Windows XP there's no need for a program like that. You will not get a performace boost or if you do you will not notice it.

  6. #6
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    475

    Default

    That's true if disk swapping is acceptable to you... Not to me, or anyone that wants performance without pauses or slowdowns. I like my UT2004 fast and smooth thank you very much.

    In XP it is true (as in Win98), that you can recover some of the overhead by stopping unnecessary services, but nothing can recover enough RAM to run quickly on only 128MB of sytem RAM like soulbadguy has. Even with 256MB RAM you would still have swapping.

    I would like to see a program that can recover more than the total RAM available to the system. I show over 380 MB of system resources used for UT2004 at only moderate settings, and over 450MB when at 1280 x 1024 with max details and AA/AF enabled. That means that swapping will occur at times with 256mb of RAM, and will happen often with 128mb.

  7. #7
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Originally posted by Krogen
    The are a bunch of programs that clear memory inside Windows but if you already have Windows XP there's no need for a program like that. You will not get a performace boost or if you do you will not notice it.
    wow i guess my computer is wierd then. i have the FREE RAM XP PRO 1.40 and i can see a noticeiable increase in performance on all my games. EX: better loading times, better exit time ect

  8. #8
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,306

    Default

    Originally posted by unrealbmxer
    wow i guess my computer is wierd then. i have the FREE RAM XP PRO 1.40 and i can see a noticeiable increase in performance on all my games. EX: better loading times, better exit time ect
    Really? Cause with 768MB of RAM you actually have a plenty of space... Much more than Unreal itself needs for working properly.

    :up:

  9. #9
    Prisoner 849
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    946

    Default

    128 is less memory than windows can use if u let it, so this is really kinda a problem, simplest solution would be blow 50 bucks on another stick.

    No memory program can compensate for doubling your memory size :bulb: i mean, even just 256 MB would increase the performance of your entire system, im surprised UT2004 is even playable with 128....

    And generally the more ram the better, sure a gig is enough (its what ive got) but the more you have, your performance will go up, swapping dosent just occour in game you know, it will continue to help. Plus with programs running in the background you can easily need a gig, with UnrealEd open with a moderately large map, and playtesting in UT2004, my computer has some memory related lag.

    Think of it this way, windows probably cant use less than 32MB, then UT only has 96MB to work with, which isnt even enough to load all the menu classes and textures.

    Memory can be expensive, but nothing can really replace it, sorry :sour:

  10. #10
    Redeemer
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,306

    Default

    They don't even sell 1GB sticks yet... Seen on on eBay once or twice.

  11. #11
    MSgt. Shooter Person
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    475

    Default

    YOu can buy 1gb modules, but they are $$$, and normally only used by designers and for servers.

  12. #12
    Prisoner 849
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    946

    Default

    1 gig modules are about $350, at least of what ive seen. Now the 2 GB ones are $$$$$ no cheaper than 1000.....

    even another 128 or 256 stick would be sufficient for doubling your computers performance and/or halving UT2004's load times.

  13. #13


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright ©2009-2011 Epic Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Digital Point modules: Sphinx-based search vBulletin skin by CompletevB.com.