Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Creating Save Games in UDK

Raven Knight

Question Creating Save Games in UDK

Hi. I am trying to create a RPG using UDK, and there is one part I am having problems with. I need a way for the user to save their progress and then come back later. I have seen a method of creating save games using something called dll bind, but unfortunately while I am studying C++, I am still rather a C++ noob. Is this the only way to create save games from UDK? If it is (or even if it isn't) does anyone know of a really good tutorial that explains how the dll bind and C++ method works? I would not mind giving the time to learn this, but the couple tutorials I found just gave me a lot of C++ code without really explaining any of it. If this is the best method, I don't want to just copy someone else's code, I want to understand it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Raven

Baldtoast
    You can avoid C++ altogether and use BasicSaveObject()/BasicLoadObject() in Engine.uc:

Code:
    /**
     * Serializes an object to a file (object pointers to non-always loaded objects are not supported)
     * @param Obj The object to serialize
     * @param Pathname The path to the file to save
     * @param bIsSaveGame If TRUE, FILEWRITE_SaveGame will be used to create the file writer
     * @param Version A version number to save with the archive, so that we can safely fail when loading old versioned files
     * @return TRUE if successful
     */
    native static final function bool BasicSaveObject(Object Obj, string Pathname, bool bIsSaveGame, int Version);

/**
     * Loads an object from a file (saved with the BasicSaveObject function). It should already be
     * allocated just like the original object was allocated
     * @param Obj The object to serialize
     * @param Pathname The path to the file to read and create the object from
     * @param bIsSaveGame If TRUE, FILEREAD_SaveGame will be used to create the file reader