PDA

View Full Version : 2D/3D art question..

Devils Testament
01-03-2011, 06:55 PM
Hello,

Well I want to start off by saying that I am a little new to this field in iOS development with the UDK. I wanted to ask what kind of artwork can the UDK support? I know that we can make 3D characters in other softwares and export them to the UDK, but what I want to know is can I have my artist draw something in 2D and still be able to export it to the UDK? Do I still have to create a skeleton for it? Weird question and I might not be putting it correctly but if anyone can somewhat understand me and help me out that be great. Thanks in advance.

Devils Testament
01-03-2011, 07:51 PM
Is there anyone out there? Really need these questions answered please.

Tom Havlik
01-03-2011, 09:36 PM
This is very very basic game development. Do not bump your thread after one hour of it being open. Seriously, this is like one google search away.

What you do is use billboards. It's a 3D plane with a drawing on it. Do some searching and you will find there is more than a wealth of information of simple billboard art.

Devils Testament
01-03-2011, 10:09 PM
Well Tom Havlik thanks for the comment even though it was a little rude I have done searches on the web. I simply want to know can I have my artist draw some 2D images and just run them in the UDK? Or do they have to have a skeleton on them so that the UDK can recognize them? If you google those two questions you can see there is no sure answer or at least not one that I can understand so I do apologize if I was a pain to you.

Blade[UG]
01-03-2011, 10:38 PM
What do you mean "just run them"? How would you put a 2d image into a 3d world?

Since you're new and don't know the workflow, describe what you want to achieve, not how you want to get there :)

Devils Testament
01-03-2011, 10:44 PM