PDA

View Full Version : Curved HUD

Bowser Koopa
10-04-2010, 04:45 PM
Hey folks!

Before I start, I must warn that I'm an artist and not a programmer or scripter. So, basically what I'm looking for is a solution that I could do on my own as much as possible (our programmer is tied up with gameplay for our game right now and doesn't have the time to work on HUD and UI at the moment on our project). Any help would be appreciated!

All right, with that being said, let me explain what I'm trying to do. The title should give you a good idea of where I'm going. I want to create a curved helmet-style/cockpit-style HUD for our game. However, there isn't a whole lot of documentation or video out there that helps me achieve this.

Here are a couple of videos I found (in a series of videos related to scaleform implementation) that are excellent but fall short of my needs.

Adding a SWF to a BSP by Matthew Doyle from Scaleform:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fc5yWKsNJlM
This is an excellent video that explains how to project a UI element in 3D space within the UDK.

Setting up a menu in UDK by Vicki Smith:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QU8aGpQTry4
This is another video from an online tutorial series on youtube that explains how to bring your flash UI swfs into the UDK basically from start to finish. The menus are fixed to the camera and are always billboarded and facing the user.

Now, what I'm basically looking for is a combination of the two methods listed above. Since I want a curved HUD, I basically need to take a 3D planar mesh, bend it, apply the SWF to that curved mesh and have the curved mesh always face the user. My question is, is there a way to do this easily? Obviously, even if there is no easy solution, I'm open to pretty much any solution at this point.