PDA

View Full Version : best way to simulate fur?



SidV
01-02-2010, 05:35 PM
do i really have to use hundreds of mapped planes for this?

javahawk
01-03-2010, 02:59 PM
Define what you mean fur? Do you have a reference animation or photo?

Joshua

Dn2
01-03-2010, 03:31 PM
The UDN has a page on hair http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/CreatingHairUsingAlpha.html

SidV
01-03-2010, 03:36 PM
yes, i mean like this guy for example:

http://img682.imageshack.us/img682/1375/gorilla2.jpg

SidV
01-03-2010, 03:44 PM
thx for the link dn2. thats what i thought. so i have to place and rotate every friggin plane in place myself. oh joy :(

geodav
01-04-2010, 01:25 PM
you might be better of just using a normal map for the main area and the hair tutorial for the bits that overhang