PDA

View Full Version : Problems on importing meshes .fbx

roberdan
12-23-2009, 02:22 PM
I am new with the UDK, yesterday I downloaded the last December relelase, I have tried to import some assets inside the UDK they are in .fbx format who seems now supported but I am having errors.

As soon as i click on import a pop up show with the Failed import message.

These same meshes I have imported in every other 3d package and game engine without problems so I dont know why I have errors. Is anyone here having the same problems importing these?

I have exported in the .fbx from my 3d model program C4D 11.0

If you have any suggestion thanks.

ShawnBaxe
12-23-2009, 03:22 PM
Static meshes for UDK should be in ASE-format, skeletal meshes must be PSK, and animations in PSA-format. Don't know if there's native support for FBX in UDK.

roberdan
12-23-2009, 03:58 PM
Static meshes for UDK should be in ASE-format, skeletal meshes must be PSK, and animations in PSA-format. Don't know if there's native support for FBX in UDK.

Thanks for your answer, apparently there is they have added it in the last patch "i think" it was not there in the UDK from November 09, but now when you click import there is the .fbx import for fbx meshes and skeletal meshes. But For some reason as soon as i click OK I get pop up Import failed.

roberdan
12-25-2009, 05:38 PM
Unfortunatly as long as there is no way to import my own models I cant really make any use of the UDK, so I will wait to see if there is going to be different importing formats in the future, none of the mentioned are disponible either in Zbrush and in Cinema4D which has most of the formats.
IMHO there should be a plaing .OBJ or a fix for the .FBX because right now it doent work, I am not asking to have a specific format like C4D but one that is included to any 3d model program.

For now I will try to use a old XSI version just to see if I can use it to export in .ase

tesco
12-26-2009, 06:50 AM