View Full Version : LODing from mesh to sprite?

11-21-2009, 08:58 PM
Can this be done as is or do I need to use another type of actor? Primarily I was thinking of using this for vegetation. So in theory I'd have one or two meshes and a sprite, all which are switched depending on the distance to the camera.

11-21-2009, 11:13 PM
Isn't that more or less what speedtree can do...?

11-23-2009, 08:23 AM
I'd like to know if this is possible for Supreme Commander style iconisation of assets. IE: When yer too far away from something to see the mesh properly, you get an icon instead. I guess it's doable via HUD Deprojecting but is there another way?

11-23-2009, 02:25 PM
I'd rather not use SpeedTree for flowers and blades of grass. ;)

That sounds neat feanix, useful. :)

11-28-2009, 12:55 PM
Bump, any info on this or should I just take a gasp and delve into UnrealScript and try something like this?