PDA

View Full Version : Trouble Testing Custom Weapons

TychoVII
11-05-2009, 11:01 PM
I'm no programmer by any means, just an artist trying to get his weapons into the game. In UT3 I know the basic process behind doing it, but I can't get the same process to work in the UDK.

The old way was to copy the UTWeap_Shockrifle and UTAttachment_Shockrifle and modify a few lines to use my own custom meshes. I've done the same thing in the UDK and I put my modified scripts in the /Development/Src/MyMods... folder. I added MyMods to the UTEditor.ini and modified the line:

'ModPackagesInPath=..\..\UTGame\Src'

to this:
'ModPackagesInPath=..\..\Development\Src'.

I'm not quite sure where to put my packages before building now, so I threw them into the Content folder under TestPackages. I used Frontend to recompile it, opened up the editor and placed a Weapon Factory in a simple level, but my weapon doesn't show up in the weapons list.

I tried moving my packages to the Unpublished folder, but then Frontend gives me a bunch of warnings about not being able to find the assets.

This non-programmer could sure use a little help. Thanks in advance :)

jernst
11-05-2009, 11:17 PM
you could just import your weapons with the same names in the same groups, in the same package, thus overwriting the original, say shock rifle with your mesh.

I do this all the time to test different player characters and such locally.

quick example:
package name : ShockRifle
Group name : Mesh
SkelMesh name : SK_ShockRifle

just import your weapon in same upk, same grp, and name yours the same, and it will overwrite

TychoVII
11-05-2009, 11:46 PM
I've always heard that you're never supposed to modify or write over the original packages or scripts.

ambershee
11-05-2009, 11:47 PM
Personally, I'd never overwrite them. I'm not sure code goes in the 'MyMods' folder however. Have you checked the UDN docs on how to compile?

TychoVII
11-06-2009, 12:19 AM
Ok I got it working.