PDA

View Full Version : Giving Static Meshes Physics



xjmanx247
05-26-2008, 09:52 AM
Does anyone know how to add physics to static meshes? So if they get shot or ran into the object moves.

Hushpuppy
05-26-2008, 10:15 AM
This is from Hourences tutorials


Creating a physics object is much simpler than one might imagine. Find yourself a nice a and small Staticmesh in a package somewhere, and add it to the world somewhere as a regular Staticmesh (Hold S on keyboard, click a surface). Then, rightclick the Staticmesh you've just added to the world, and go to Convert - to KActor.

http://tutorials.hourences.com/tutorialimages/ue3phys/1.jpg



Once converted, open up its properties (F4), and in the section KActor, enable bWakeOnLevelStart. You're done! Start up the level, and shoot the object. Provided that the object is small enough, It should move. If it does not, try scaling it down.

To get your KActor to light up, you will need to enable the Dynamic channel on the surrounding lights, as well as bCastCompositeShadow and bCastDynamicShadows. The last two are optionally and may impact performance.


http://tutorials.hourences.com/tutorialimages/ue3phys/2.jpg

xjmanx247
05-26-2008, 10:44 AM
thanks for the help

[TDC]Destroyer
05-26-2008, 10:57 AM
Tnx man!
This one is really cool!

xjmanx247
05-26-2008, 11:05 AM
when i convert the static mesh to Kactor it turns it black and when i run the level it doesn't show up.

ambershee
05-26-2008, 11:53 AM
Check the lighting channels.

xjmanx247
05-26-2008, 12:28 PM
ok, i figured out why it was showing up black in the editor. When I load the level the mesh doesn't even appear. Know what could be causing that?

ambershee
05-26-2008, 02:22 PM
Build / save the map.

xjmanx247
05-26-2008, 05:15 PM
thanks everyone for all the help, i got it working now