PDA

View Full Version : How do i run a PS3 dedicated server in linux?



CuTTingEdg3 777
12-12-2007, 02:14 PM
Topic^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Slaughter
12-12-2007, 02:15 PM
You don't. There isn't a dedicated server package for the PS3.

WarTourist
12-12-2007, 02:16 PM
You need a dedicated PS3 to run a PS3 dedicated server.

Herby
12-12-2007, 02:17 PM
You can run a dedicated server using the ps3 and the ps3 version of the game.

CuTTingEdg3 777
12-12-2007, 02:20 PM
i thought the ps3 version could run servers from the pc...?

Dubious
12-12-2007, 02:27 PM
i thought the ps3 version could run servers from the pc...?
Nope.




these are more characters to appease the forum God's requirements that more text be entered for no apparent reason.

rigged
12-12-2007, 02:37 PM
10characters

ok, it's 12 but w/e

CuTTingEdg3 777
12-12-2007, 03:13 PM
why was it said b4 that you could run a server from your pc for the ps3?
wtf

Dubious
12-12-2007, 03:35 PM
why was it said b4 that you could run a server from your pc for the ps3?
wtf
Because Mark Rein lied to you.

Who knows - maybe it will be possible at some point in the future. Its just not possible now.

rigged
12-12-2007, 03:55 PM
Because Mark Rein lied to you.

im getting used to that...

Vlad^Tepes
12-13-2007, 10:00 PM
Because Mark Rein lied to you.

Who knows - maybe it will be possible at some point in the future. Its just not possible now.

Seems like he does,i mean why even include a drop down box for ps3 in their released dedicated server software ?

http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/2224/16684483bw6.th.jpg (http://img246.imageshack.us/my.php?image=16684483bw6.jpg)

headfog
12-13-2007, 11:28 PM
You need a dedicated PS3 to run a PS3 dedicated server.

I can't seem to find any hosting facilities that run dedicated PS3 server farms. Can you provide a list.

That is a rhetorical question by the way.

zoro
12-14-2007, 03:53 AM
So - you need to buy a second PS3 (horribly overpriced) in order to run a real server for PS3's?

Wow ...

CuTTingEdg3 777
12-20-2007, 07:47 PM
bumper to see if we can get a offical FAQ on server hosting on ps3.

CuTTingEdg3 777
12-21-2007, 04:17 PM
oh boy :( :( :( :(

Dubious
12-21-2007, 05:21 PM
bumper to see if we can get a offical FAQ on server hosting on ps3.
Uhmmm ... post #3 in this exact thread is a post from Epic stating that you need a PS3 to host a PS3 dedicated server. Its also been posted in the sticky FAQ at the top of this forum for a long time. Using more emoticons will not get you a different answer.

CuTTingEdg3 777
12-21-2007, 11:10 PM
well why was it reported b4 that you could run ps3 servers from your pc and
what about the ps3 drop down window? http://img246.imageshack.us/my.php?image=16684483bw6.jpg
seems broken to me :(
anyway thx 4 the response