PDA

View Full Version : Howto: Extracting Textures & Custom Crosshairs



xerofighter
11-25-2007, 04:00 PM
As i understand there is a problem of not being able to use all stock textures for mapping, and the complaining about the crosshairs.
I may have a solution for you guys, it's called texmod

What can this program do for ut3
- extraction of Textures for later importing into Unreal editor, including alpha's.
- Injecting Custom Fonts, icons crosshairs, skins. etc
* all this without permanent change.

there will be no more complaining about the crosshairs since you can create your own.
You can now import textures from maps (cooked packages) into unrealeditor


Downsides:
- all the modification (the injection part) will be clientside only
- could potentially be used for getting an advantage over others, but it will
be highly unlikely to be exploited
first of all: there aren't that many textures that affect gameplay, there are no alpha's to be edited that would make walls invisible or something like that
lightmaps are hard to alter, changing it to your advantage will be very difficult
also because maps cycle in online play.
Also which moron would browse through over 2400 loaded textures with every new map



I'll first explain something about the program:
The program was designed for use with Tomb raider legends, people wanted to mod but they were unable to, someone created this little app. it can find and show all loaded textures currently loaded a directx9 application
The program can extract those textures to you harddrive, in .bmp .dds, .png and more.
When you extract it, the program will create a little txt file, texmod.log, it will contain the checksum of the texture (thats how it finds the texture in the memory) and the file location of the extracted texture
With that file you can create a package, that package will contain the checksum and the (edited) texture
when you load that package into the program and run the game through package mode, texmod will monitor the memory the game uses, when it a checksum matches with the one in the package, texmod will write the (edited) texture to memory, changing the orginal texture.
No gamedata is being altered.

You can download Texmod at the following locations:
http://www.tombraiderhub.com/tr7/modding/texmod/download/texmod.zip
http://files.filefront.com/Texmodzip/;8884025;/fileinfo.html


Now let's extract some textures, startup texmod:
http://img126.imageshack.us/img126/8914/59916196yi5.png
http://img126.imageshack.us/img126/5650/35256623sl6.png

when the game is loaded you will notice, red text in the upperleft corner
Press + and - on your numpad to browse through all the loaded textures
Go to instant action, startup the map in which you want a texture to be extracted. go stand in front of that texture, and start browsing trhough the loaded textures, the texture in front of you will turn green when it's selected.
Now press F11 to save the selected texture to your harddrive
Repeat for other textures
It's better to press and hold the + button until you see the texture in front of you flash green, if that happens, release the + button, and go back until you have the texture selected. it's a lot faster then checking every texture one by one (most of the times over 2500 textures are loaded)

Now that they are extracted you can probably import them into UnrealED



Now for changing textures, the crosshair for example:
Use the same extraction method as above, look for the texture which turns your crosshair green, then save that texture to your harddrive
quit the game and go find the texture, you will probably be suprised to see a white texture with a little green dot onto it, don't be. the crosshairs are located in the image, but they are alpha's.
Next you will need a Program that can handle .bmp's with alpha channels in them, that would be photoshop for example.
load the image into photoshop and deselect every channel, now select the Alpha 1 channel, all the nice 'little' crosshairs will popup

http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/5536/37672714dp2.png
from here you can alter the image in photoshop if you'd like, but i prefer Paint
let's extract the texture to paint.
with only the alpha channel visible, select the image and copy it, now open paint and paste the texture in, make your alterations and copy it.
Now go back to photoshop, select entire alpha channel and press delete
The old alpha is now gone. now paste the new alpha channel into it's place.
Backup the orginal texture (you don't want to be re-extracting the crosshair texture over and over again)
and save the texture

NOTICE: The filename is important, it must contain the checksum, otherwise texmod won't be able to create a tpl package. so keep the orginal filename

when you extracted the texture a file called texmod.log was appended.
it's content will be this:
0xBE5D041C|E:\texmod\Out\UT3.EXE_0xBE5D041C.bmp
(file location may vary)
Left you see the checksum texmod will be looking for and right you will see the location of the edited texture on your harddrive.
the more textures you extract, the more entries you will be seeing in tis file
So why does it do that?
It is possible to create tpl packages with multiple edited textures in them
For example you want to alter the textures of the entire GUI, one way to do it is making packages with each contain 1 edited texture, better would be to haev 1 file with all the neccesary textures in them.
If you only want 1 texture edited and you have a large texmod.log file, create an empty .log file, paste the texture information of that texture from texmod.log to <younameit>.log

Now let's continue with those packages i was talking about
we need to create packages which texmod can load in order to alter the textures ingame. it saves them as .tpl files
To create them following the screenshots below:

http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/1769/22313245he1.png
when it's saved we can load the package and enjoy the changes:
http://img108.imageshack.us/img108/1620/97308737ay6.png
when sucessfull the result may look like this:
http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/1989/screenshot00003hb6.th.png (http://img220.imageshack.us/my.php?image=screenshot00003hb6.png)

keep in mind to keep the centers of the crosshairs as they are now, otherwise you will end up shooting with an offset

To make it easy for you guys, i made a .zip file, with the texmod.log and the texture of the crosshairs, saves you guys the trouble of extracting it
don't forget to change the file location of the texture in this texmod.log
It currently points to E:\texmod
open up texmod.log in notepad, and change the file location to location of the extracted file from the zip
For example C:\tools\Texmod\Out\(filename).extension
link below
http://rapidshare.com/files/72262480/crosshairs.zip.html



The program is completly safe to use
For confirmation, see the texmod wikipage on the official Guild Wars Wiki
http://wiki.guildwars.com/wiki/Texmod

STD
11-25-2007, 10:40 PM
umm.. i followed all the steps and alter the crosshair and made it to a "DOT" but now i keep getting invalid definitions@_@ when i try to load my "package build" X_X:mad::mad:

xerofighter
11-26-2007, 03:13 AM
ah the building problem in texmod, i guesst hat is what you are talking about?

you probably have used my zip file?
there is an error in that file, the file location points to E:\texmod, you need to alter it to your location of the crosshair texture
so you need to open up the texmod.log in notepad and manually change the file location to the right one.

i updated the guide with this.

albator
11-26-2007, 07:34 AM
I've just finished working on my base crosshairs and it works like a charm, THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS (didn't know such program existed, will make the wait for an official patch for custom crosshairs less annoying!)

This is what I have now:
http://alba.fnatic.com/lab/ut3/res_xhairs.jpg

This is the result ingame:
http://alba.fnatic.com/lab/ut3/test_xhairs.jpg


:)

STD
11-26-2007, 12:02 PM
albator check pm ^__^

alba
11-26-2007, 12:49 PM
Found my old account again!


Here's my file for it but I don't know if you can just use it like this or not (I guess so) if not, my location of the program is c:\Programs\Texmod\

:)

Here's an updated screenshot, i'm looking around at the moment but i think everything should be aligned right to the middle :)

http://alba.fnatic.com/lab/ut3/xhairs4.jpg

Download (http://alba.fnatic.com/lab/ut3/alba_xhairs.rar)

Seraphina
11-26-2007, 01:04 PM
so, what i dont get is how u can choose the crosshair.
am i missing an option?
i tried this and got a different crosshair but its not the one i want.

flak.pt
11-26-2007, 01:34 PM
Hello. I found an easier way to extract them, using only UED. Now i just need to know how to import and replace lol.

1. Open UnrealED
2. View menu > Browser windows > Generic
3. Scroll down to package UI_HUD
4. Right click on the UI_HUD package and choose "Fully load"
5. Right click on the package and choose "Bulk export"

Manually exporting only 1 texture doesnt work here, but it works if you export the fullpackage ;)

Now, please someone find out how to replace the crosshair texture and publish the upk file. Thanks.

Denny
11-26-2007, 01:41 PM
OMG H4X TH4TZ ZO CH34TZ LOLZ!!!!!11111

Just had to jump in and say that before someone else does. ;)

flak.pt
11-26-2007, 01:44 PM
Ok it seems that "Fully load" only loads a few textures from the full package, and those are represented with a green square. All the other ones have a red square around them and say "streamed" in their caption. Those cannot be exported this way, and that includes the crosshairs texture :confused:

BioHaZarD
11-26-2007, 02:05 PM
Thank you Xero!!!! I think my pm had effect on you, thank you very much

Seraphina
11-26-2007, 02:11 PM
oh and could someone from epic maybe confirm that this is ok to use?
we are just discussing if it would be called a hack or not and tbh i dont wanna use a hack lol but it just feels so much better with a smaller xhair now :D

xerofighter
11-26-2007, 02:39 PM
Thank you Xero!!!! I think my pm had effect on you, thank you very much

yup i finished the tutorial, you made me realise that it was pretty save to use :)


LEt me explain why this isn't a hack
Before i posted this method i tested several things which could be used for cheating
first of all:
making walls invisible, i know this can only be done using alpha's, so i started looking for alpha's in the Biohazard map, i only found 3 alpha's
the first one was a small alpha that dealt with a kind of metallic grid
the second one, was the crosshair texture. the third was an alpha containing icons. so there were no textures to make walls invisible

Could it be used to edit lightmaps to remove dark shadows, this could potentially be done, but it will take a lot of effort, if you ever seen a ut3 lightmap, it contains many many small and bigger squars, filled with different colors, identifying the right area you wish to edit will take a fairly long time
Also the result will be likely not to be what you would have expected, a small change in color can cause entire area's to be bright white.
And to do this for all maps, including maps that will be released by mappers in the future, it just isn't worth the effort.
And why do this? you could simply turn the brightness of the game and your monitor to max. it has the same effect, can can be done by everyone without this software. so texmod can't be accused of being a hack in this category

WHat about changing team color this one will be more tricky to accomplish with texmod
Every character is different with different pieces of armor, pants headgear, etc.
How long would it take to find every texture belonging to those pieces, changing them and putting them back, only a fool would do that
You can yet again better adjust the brightness if you want brighter opponents.
The same with changing nromal deathmatch player colors, these are equally diverse.

These are only some of the things i thought about before posting this.

Even the company Arenanet allows players to use this program for their game Guild Wars, that game although a MMO can be used for a lot more things then in UT3, people can increase the size of their radar, use mods to make exploring the continents easy (you get a title when you explore 100%)
Texmod affects this game more then UT3, and yet Guild Wars allows it to be used
(it's listed on their official Wiki pages)

Seraphina
11-26-2007, 03:02 PM
i hope epic can confirm this when they find out about it :)
i only use it public and in pickups at, no officials and i wouldnt want to unless its been ok'ed from "above" ;)

alba
11-26-2007, 05:08 PM
as I thought people can't make it all work together so i'll post the texmod.log and bmp so you can make it yourself

download (http://alba.fnatic.com/lab/ut3/crosshairs_uncompiled.rar)

Follow the steps xero posted!


EDIT: or when i come to think of it, don't use the simple crosshair, if you got the pink crosshair only, it means you're using the simple ones (aka sniper rifle one :P)

CaFe
11-26-2007, 06:11 PM
maek yo link wurk plx

Rujman
11-26-2007, 11:30 PM
Grand. Just grand.

STD
11-27-2007, 12:47 AM
yes.. but alba your link dont work X__x =D

xerofighter
11-27-2007, 12:59 AM
the same as the .zip i posted ( see first post, bottom), if you download the alba .rar. don't forget to change the file location in the texmod.log, otherwise you will end up with unable to build the package

alba
11-27-2007, 01:07 AM
my ftp seems to be down at the moment so try this one: download (http://labs.albator.eu/ut3/alba_xhairs.rar)

and as xero said, don't forget to rename the path in the texmod.log file :)

xerofighter
11-27-2007, 07:28 AM
alba i already posted the same thing in the first post :P

Esteem
11-27-2007, 11:28 AM
how bout getting rid of the little black shadow around the bottom right part of the crosshair

rozy
11-27-2007, 11:58 AM
Anyone knows if there's a chance that once decent anti-cheat will be there for UT3, this "trick" would be considered as 'cheat' ? E.g. in leagues etc?
I read the explanation about 'not being a cheat' but somehow I'd like to wait until some official statement is made :) Nice efforts though. It's just a pitty that players have to find a way around for this. Should be available in the game. If not, at least in the next patch.

wallen
11-27-2007, 12:20 PM
I've tried to accomplish this but I didn't quite manage: is there a way to launch texmod using UT3's and .tpf file's paths in the form of parameters in a shortcut? This would be much more convenient than manually starting texmod and selecting the UT3 execution file as well as the texture one.

xerofighter
11-27-2007, 12:33 PM
the little shadow can't be removed unfortunately, the shadow is made by the engine, the same way shadows are cast upon objects.

i don't understand how this program can ever be considered a cheat, everything this program can accomplish could already be done by mods and customizing in UT2004, and that wasn't a problem either

And besides cheaters usually don't play in Clans, most clans are mature enough not to use so called hacks or cheats, and if they exsist, it would be known very soon and nobody would want to play against them anymore.

We really have to wait and see if epic games really makes a statement about this program, they are the judge, they decide.
But i won't be ashamed of having posted this method, people wanted it, you would share your solution to if you knew a solution. and i trust on the 'rightness' of people. even the smallest kids are mature enough to understand not to use things like this for the wrong purposes

xerofighter
11-27-2007, 12:42 PM
I've tried to accomplish this but I didn't quite manage: is there a way to launch texmod using UT3's and .tpf file's paths in the form of parameters in a shortcut? This would be much more convenient than manually starting texmod and selecting the UT3 execution file as well as the texture one.

I looked into this today, the problem is known. Texmod does not support command line parameters yet

iMpure
11-28-2007, 07:34 AM
http://alba.fnatic.com/lab/ut3/xhairs4.jpg

Download (http://alba.fnatic.com/lab/ut3/alba_xhairs.rar)

i tried to edit this shockrifle crosshair into a dot but then still i have this "cross shadow" of the original behind my created crosshair..
what did i do wrong? i mean are there shadows on this image too?? :p

either way i would apreciate it if somebody could fit me a nice dot :P

Dannydeman
11-28-2007, 10:38 AM
Well, if it is just a package...Maybe someone can make a nice small cross and a dot in the package and upload the UPK file :)
I'll appericiate it.

xerofighter
11-28-2007, 11:18 AM
i tried to edit this shockrifle crosshair into a dot but then still i have this "cross shadow" of the original behind my created crosshair..
what did i do wrong? i mean are there shadows on this image too?? :p

either way i would apreciate it if somebody could fit me a nice dot :P


only editing the texture isn't enough, in order to get it working ingame you need to build a new package on your own, not se the alba one, since that package still has the texture with the cross crosshair in it.

Mister_Hack
11-28-2007, 03:06 PM
Well, i tried myself not at Crosshairs, but at the fonts used for Health, Ammo and Fragcount. I mean those, where you canīt really distinguish between 6 and 8 (and sometimes 9).

Hereīs a short preview (rather badly downscaled, i admit...)
http://www.misterhack.de/UT3/Image3.bmp

And hereīs a zip containing the Bitmaps and the TexMod.log i used (dont forget to alter the pathname in the log, if someone wants to use them):
http://www.misterhack.de/UT3/UIFonts.zip

Donīt know, which of the six Bitmaps are really necessary, but after i tried only one and it wasnīt working, i went on the safe side and corrected all the textures using these chars.

alba
11-29-2007, 09:28 AM
I'll give a go at hud editing too :D

Jethor
11-29-2007, 09:40 AM
It works!!!!!!! Damn xerofighter, you're a life saver!
Hopefully Epic either supports this method, or puts in a ****load of crosshairs in themselves. The big cross was impossible to work with, especially from a distance in instagib..

DarkSoldier
11-29-2007, 09:58 AM
is it possible to extract character/vehicle/weapon models?

Sidesh0w
11-29-2007, 01:39 PM
this is too long to read and i'm too lazy to actually do it -_-

Rujman
11-29-2007, 02:57 PM
Any dual colored crosshairs?

xtruder
11-29-2007, 05:45 PM
yes, dual-colored xhairs plz

xerofighter
11-29-2007, 05:49 PM
is it possible to extract character/vehicle/weapon models?

no only the textures, there is no way to extract models. using texmod
since texmod is only designed to handle textures
otherwise they would have named it modmod if it could handle models :p

xerofighter
11-29-2007, 05:52 PM
I don't have the time to create all kinds of crosshairs.
There areenough people reading this topic, maybe some of them could create some custom crosshairs to share? that's what a community is for right. help eachother out.

alba
11-30-2007, 06:18 PM
i tried to edit this shockrifle crosshair into a dot but then still i have this "cross shadow" of the original behind my created crosshair..
what did i do wrong? i mean are there shadows on this image too?? :p

either way i would apreciate it if somebody could fit me a nice dot :P


because the bmp as an alpha channel you need to edit too. open photoshop then go into alpha and check the last one... and then edit :)

alba
12-01-2007, 12:12 PM
Here's my latest one:
http://alba.fnatic.com/lab/ut3/ut3xhairs.jpg
download (http://alba.fnatic.com/lab/ut3/ut3xhairs.rar)

steak
12-01-2007, 08:11 PM
OMG TY!!!! WOOT DOT FTW!!
where was the option to change crosshair color located in the ini's? now i need it to b green

rozy
12-02-2007, 09:20 AM
Anyone knows how to get this crosshair? (Click for full size)

http://img46.imageshack.us/img46/4938/cursoriw8.th.jpg (http://img46.imageshack.us/my.php?image=cursoriw8.jpg)

It was one of the basic crosshairs included in the original Unreal Tournament, as well as in UT2003 and UT2004. Unfortunately not in UT3.

By the way, do you people use those custom crosshairs in official games also? I would like to know how clanbase.com and other leagues look at this external program that makes you choose your own crosshair.

Drets
12-02-2007, 09:53 AM
alba, how can someone get the 7th crosshair on the first row of your image?
If I run texmod, (with your file), choose my UT3.exe location and then my game starts up. What do I need to do to get that 7th cursor on the first row? Because I added those custom coordinates to my utweapon.ini and instead of that 7th crosshair I actually got 3 crosshairs (vertically) on my screen).

alba
12-03-2007, 07:50 AM
ohh weird, i don't know since i don't use any custom coordinates, just the default game no beta patch :D


here's the dot crosshairs for the dot people :p
http://alba.fnatic.com/lab/ut3/dot_xhairs.jpg
download (http://alba.fnatic.com/lab/ut3/dot_xhairs.rar)

for you rozy (don't forget to use the simple crosshairs, as it uses just the sniper rifle i edited it, should work)
http://alba.fnatic.com/lab/ut3/simple1_xhairs.jpg
download (http://alba.fnatic.com/lab/ut3/simple1_xhairs.rar)

as usual, don't forget to edit the path before building the package ;)

xerofighter
12-03-2007, 02:43 PM
alba just a tip, you coudl also build them for them , the echksums are the same on every client, so there is no need to build a package from cratch on every new client ;)
also saves a lot of questions :D

alba
12-03-2007, 06:26 PM
alright :P

oxy
12-05-2007, 04:52 PM
yes plz :) its a lot easier i found with the .tpf

btw great work i can combo like a dream now :D

alba
12-06-2007, 08:26 AM
Well ok then, here you go (http://labs.albator.eu/ut3/albaUT3_xhairs.rar) all the .tpf files :)

Mr.Lol
12-07-2007, 10:12 AM
so if i wanna make the dot crosshairs i just need to download alba's file ?

and put it where ?

Mr.Lol
12-07-2007, 12:48 PM
do u have to start the game from the texmod always ?

rozy
12-08-2007, 08:33 AM
When I used that program Texmod to test it, I get no crosshair at all in game.

I placed those tpl files somewhere on my harddrive, choose Package Mode --> browsed to the 'xhairs_simple' and then choose 'Run' , I don't see any crosshair at all when I'm in game. (with 'Simple' crosshair selected in the menu). I managed to use those other packages and got a white dot or a white + , but not the green + with dashed lines.

What did I do wrong?

Snabben
12-08-2007, 08:48 AM
Hmm, is there any way to permanently implent this into the game?

xerofighter
12-08-2007, 10:18 AM
this method can never be permanent, other wasy are needed to permenently implent it into the game
but then problems arise, because you could be playing with edited packages, anticheat mods may block you because of that

A new version of UTcomp for Ut3 is on it's way this includes the ability to create custom crosshairs from shapes included in UTcomp

alba
12-08-2007, 12:28 PM
would be nice to have like a 256x256 texture for each weapon and you could just edit it with any image program... at least i'll use texmod until something better comes out or when epic fix it up :p

oxy
12-11-2007, 04:34 PM
anyone know a way of possibly put this into "UT Custom" as i liked these xhairs .. n now utcustom forces em to something else

Green_Day_584
12-11-2007, 08:20 PM
OMG H4X TH4TZ ZO CH34TZ LOLZ!!!!!11111

Just had to jump in and say that before someone else does. ;)

danm. he beat me to it :D

nah, this is SICK. THANKYOU SO MUCH. i am now complete :cool:

Enforcer-5
01-01-2008, 08:46 PM
Why cant you import crosshairs from ut2k4 into ut3? Like the kauspack and stuff

mOog
01-16-2008, 10:38 AM
alba can you create for me a .bmp with a simple yellow cross for all weapons?

sweetGalahad
04-27-2008, 01:46 PM
When I alter the crosshairs, I always get a black outline where I would try to fill in the black areas so it matched the black backround. Can someone tell me how to "draw" the appropriate crosshair without the black lines in the final in game crosshair?

xerofighter
04-28-2008, 05:36 AM
export the alpha channel into paint, and copy the appropiate black color with the color selection tool, then when you are finished copy the image (Ctrl +C) and replace the alpha channel which you have in photoshop with the one you just copied
(highlight the alpha channel, Ctrl + A, and press delte, then ctrl +V to paste in the copied image.)

I used this method and never had any problems with black outlines, make sure you only edit the alpha channel, if you paint on top of the RGB channels then these problems may arise.

sweetGalahad
04-28-2008, 06:30 PM
Well the thing is, I'm trying to make it light blue, if I only have the alpha channel, when I copy and paste it, it's only black and white. Is this normal, will the color still be there?

sweetGalahad
04-28-2008, 06:47 PM
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b254/Hurricanex90/crosshair.png


That light blue cross hair is all I want... but I can't get it. It shows up as a dot in game. If you could make that for me, I would sincerely appreciate it.

xerofighter
04-29-2008, 07:21 AM
I'll see what i can do, i don't have photoshop on my PC anymore, i'll reinstall it and try to create that crosshair for you

xerofighter
04-29-2008, 08:08 AM
In the meanwhile, i'll explain how'd you can do this yourself
The alpha channel represents which parts will be translucent, black is 100% transculent, white 0%, and anything in between will be partially transculent, what the RGB channel do is assign a color to visisble part of the crosshair
Everything that is not partially white will not draw any color

What you can do now is create the crosshair inside the alpha channel, and in the RGB channel create a solid block of the color you want it to be.
You don't have to set the color within the texture, if you leave the RGB channels white you can work with the settings you have in the Utgame.ini file, i that file there is a setting called CrosshairColor= (R=255 B=255 G=255) changing the numbers will change the color of the crosshair.

xerofighter
04-29-2008, 08:12 AM
I have the texture ready for you, you will need to create a tpl package on your own

Open this texture in photoshop and see what i did, this texture contains the color you wanted
if you want to use the .ini method, just remove the color again.
you can download it here:
http://rapidshare.com/files/111254410/UT3.EXE_0xBE5D041C.bmp.html
See if this one works.

sweetGalahad
05-02-2008, 08:54 PM
http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b254/Hurricanex90/brokencrosshair.jpg

This is what I have loaded with the file you gave me. In photoshop, it looks perfect. Perfect circle, perfect dot in the middle, really good. But what I get in game is...not the same :(

xerofighter
05-03-2008, 09:49 AM
That is odd, the alpha channel is setup correctly, you can see some of the circle as the two corners above the dot.
I'll make the circle smaller, maybe that helps, if not it may have something to do with the crosshaircoordinates in the utgame.ini, i'll come back on that later

sweetGalahad
05-03-2008, 09:35 PM
Okay, thank you so much. I just wish the crosshair system was such as it was in UTK4...what a horrible decision to no include it, really brought down the game for me.

xerofighter
05-04-2008, 06:17 AM
try this, if this does not work i don't know any other solution.
http://rapidshare.com/files/112436133/UT3.EXE_0xBE5D041C.bmp.html

Oblivion2500
12-08-2010, 07:45 PM
How do I extract all the textures from the vehicles? I saw a weapon texture pack from this forum site, but no vehicles. Do you know how?

I want to extract and change the vehicle textures and also want spider mine texture too.

Any help would be appreciated.