PDA

View Full Version : NooB needs help

Booti
11-24-2007, 06:55 PM
OK i am the first to admit i am new to the server side of UT, but i really need some help here

I have been thru the various posts that Dubious has been posting over the last few days, but i cant seem to get anything to actually work (and i am talking actually starting the command line sever). i can see where all the info is going (i kind of understand it), but i cant get any of it to work inthe real world on my machine.

the command lines that Dubious has posted (namely the vCTF one here)

server vCTF-Suspense?Game=UTGameContent.UTVehicleCTFGame_Conte nt?GameMode=3?numplay=4?maxplayers=12?NumPublicCon nections=12?NumPrivateConnections=0?NumOpenPublicC onnections=12?NumOpenPrivateConnections=0?bShouldA dvertise=True?bIsDedicated=True?PureServer=1?timel imit=20?goalscore=5?botskill=3?AdminPassword=MyAdm inPasswordl -log=server.log -login=MyLogin -password=MyPassword -multihome=123.123.123.123 -nohomedir -unattended

do not seem to fit into the shortcut i have created. i have tried to streamline it to make it fit, but then i get a message saying 'The name "code that i have entered" specified in the target box is not valid'

i have tried to create a dedicated server using the retail copy and use that code, again the command line is too long

nothing i do seems to let me actually start the server. Once i have that sorted i can work on getting it to appear to the big bad world and work on things like mapvotes and mapcycles....but for now i just want to set it up so my mates can play.

what am i doing wrong? i can only assume it is something really simple and stupid that i just can't see.
please help an idiot :D, i have been at this for 8 hours now and am losing the will to live.

Frogger
11-24-2007, 07:51 PM
are you creating a .bat file?

Dubious
11-24-2007, 09:48 PM