PDA

View Full Version : So, to all of you experienced Mappers....(and mods)

IronCurtain
10-29-2007, 09:47 PM
How hard will mapping in UT3 be? I'm really interested in it, but if I have to custom make 90% of the **** in other programs........ well that would suck.

Anyone know how easy/hard it will be to use the UT3 editor?

DGUnreal
10-29-2007, 10:26 PM
I've been working with UE3 for about 18 months now.

The answer to your question is "it depends".
Depends entirely on what you are doing and what you want in your map.

UE3 UEd is IMHO slower for productivity and a lot of things work differently than UT2004 for those who are previous mappers. It is also generally more work and more time to create a map compared to UT2004, even using ready-made content.

If you are planning on just using all stock UT3 content, then you don't have to use any external third-party software like Max/Maya, PhotoShop etc.

Sjosz
10-30-2007, 03:47 AM
I've been working with UE3 for about 18 months now.

The answer to your question is "it depends".
Depends entirely on what you are doing and what you want in your map.

UE3 UEd is IMHO slower for productivity and a lot of things work differently than UT2004 for those who are previous mappers. It is also generally more work and more time to create a map compared to UT2004, even using ready-made content.

If you are planning on just using all stock UT3 content, then you don't have to use any external third-party software like Max/Maya, PhotoShop etc.

Quoted for truth. I've been working with UE3 since May 2006 and like anyone else I had to get used to it. Now that I am used to UE3 UEd, however, I wouldn't want to go back, really.
Dev time will most definitely be longer than for UT2004, at least, to make a properly decorated level like you see in the demo. I'm thinking around a month to 3 months development time, and that's not even counting making custom content if you want to do that.

MeepZero
10-30-2007, 10:47 AM