PDA

View Full Version : Creating maps for UT3

-SHARKGUN-
10-07-2007, 11:23 AM
Well... Hey guys, I'm new to the map editing scene.. and I wanted to ask you a couple of questions:

1. How long did it take to really get into the UT2k4 map maker?

2. I want to recreate two maps from a PS2 game, I made a lot of photos... Is there a possibility to import these into the UT3 editor and to use them as textures?

3. I want to build these for PS3, so my question is, is the UT3 editor for free? Or do I have to get the PC version as well, in order to make maps for the PS3?

4. Is there aynthing I, as a beginner, have to pay attention to when trying to create a proper map?

Thanks in advance ^_^

DGUnreal
10-07-2007, 11:44 AM
1. A year to really get into it. I created my first UT99 map Octagon after sitting with UEd for about two hours. The map itself took weeks to make of course

2. They will import if they are power-of-two size and .bmp or .tga etc.

3. The editor is free, but you will need a PC to use it.

4. UT3 is different than UT2004 in many ways, but there is lots of info on the Unreal Wiki (http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/wiki) and UDN2 (http://udn.epicgames.com/Two/WebHome.html). UDN3 will be open after UT3 ships.

-SHARKGUN-
10-07-2007, 11:52 AM
Ok thanks.

Uhm regarding point 3, I do have a dual core cpu and 1 GB dualchannel ram and a Geforce 7600... Could my PC handle it? The Editing I mean.. not playing the game.

Edit:

This is one of the maps I want to recreate... It's called Subway... Can u tell me how much time u would've needed if you rebuilt this map in UT2k4?

http://youtube.com/watch?v=lRcXmJDdSus

Edit: How long did it take to fully create a map in 2k4?

DGUnreal
10-07-2007, 12:11 PM
Yes, your PC will handle UnrealEd.
I do not know if UT3 PS3 ships with the editor though, I don't know if Epic has stated this, so I am not sure if you need the PC version as well. But you don't pay extra for the editor when you buy the PC game.