PDA

View Full Version : Memory Program?



legacy-soulbadguy
01-19-2005, 01:22 PM
I only got 128mb memory and can't afford to buy another right now for several reasons. UT2K4 loads very slow... Is it good to use a memory program? any advice what program i should use? thanks.

toniglandyl
01-19-2005, 01:29 PM
no background programs, uncheck preload player skinns and text-to-speech

legacy-LordJaffa
01-19-2005, 01:32 PM
As it's on the topic of memory..... I'm getting a gig of 3200 ram in the next week or so. what difference would this make? would it just be level load-times?

legacy-mluckey
01-20-2005, 10:23 AM
It will make everything better, to include general game-play. You eill not encounter swapping at all, whereas even with 256mb of RAM you do.

legacy-Krogen
01-20-2005, 12:12 PM
The are a bunch of programs that clear memory inside Windows but if you already have Windows XP there's no need for a program like that. You will not get a performace boost or if you do you will not notice it.

legacy-mluckey
01-20-2005, 03:23 PM
That's true if disk swapping is acceptable to you... Not to me, or anyone that wants performance without pauses or slowdowns. I like my UT2004 fast and smooth thank you very much.

In XP it is true (as in Win98), that you can recover some of the overhead by stopping unnecessary services, but nothing can recover enough RAM to run quickly on only 128MB of sytem RAM like soulbadguy has. Even with 256MB RAM you would still have swapping.

I would like to see a program that can recover more than the total RAM available to the system. I show over 380 MB of system resources used for UT2004 at only moderate settings, and over 450MB when at 1280 x 1024 with max details and AA/AF enabled. That means that swapping will occur at times with 256mb of RAM, and will happen often with 128mb.

legacy-unrealbmxer
01-20-2005, 06:13 PM
Originally posted by Krogen
The are a bunch of programs that clear memory inside Windows but if you already have Windows XP there's no need for a program like that. You will not get a performace boost or if you do you will not notice it.

wow i guess my computer is wierd then. i have the FREE RAM XP PRO 1.40 and i can see a noticeiable increase in performance on all my games. EX: better loading times, better exit time ect

legacy-Krogen
01-20-2005, 10:17 PM
Originally posted by unrealbmxer
wow i guess my computer is wierd then. i have the FREE RAM XP PRO 1.40 and i can see a noticeiable increase in performance on all my games. EX: better loading times, better exit time ect

Really? Cause with 768MB of RAM you actually have a plenty of space... Much more than Unreal itself needs for working properly.

:up:

legacy-DaJMasta
01-20-2005, 11:56 PM
128 is less memory than windows can use if u let it, so this is really kinda a problem, simplest solution would be blow 50 bucks on another stick.

No memory program can compensate for doubling your memory size :bulb: i mean, even just 256 MB would increase the performance of your entire system, im surprised UT2004 is even playable with 128....

And generally the more ram the better, sure a gig is enough (its what ive got) but the more you have, your performance will go up, swapping dosent just occour in game you know, it will continue to help. Plus with programs running in the background you can easily need a gig, with UnrealEd open with a moderately large map, and playtesting in UT2004, my computer has some memory related lag.

Think of it this way, windows probably cant use less than 32MB, then UT only has 96MB to work with, which isnt even enough to load all the menu classes and textures.

Memory can be expensive, but nothing can really replace it, sorry :sour:

legacy-Krogen
01-21-2005, 07:30 AM
They don't even sell 1GB sticks yet... Seen on on eBay once or twice. :(

legacy-mluckey
01-21-2005, 08:35 AM
YOu can buy 1gb modules, but they are $$$, and normally only used by designers and for servers.

legacy-DaJMasta
01-21-2005, 09:11 AM
1 gig modules are about $350, at least of what ive seen. Now the 2 GB ones are $$$$$ no cheaper than 1000.....

even another 128 or 256 stick would be sufficient for doubling your computers performance and/or halving UT2004's load times.

legacy-Krogen
01-21-2005, 12:23 PM
$120 CHEAP. http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=44938&item=6737674116&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW