PDA

View Full Version : need some help again :/

legacy-SHADDOW
12-29-2004, 07:55 PM
what you see below is what im working on. as u can c its not finished, so what id like to know is..

1. what textures (if any) should i put on? please b specific as im still learning.

2. any details i should add to it?(symbols, ect)

3. suggestions and feedback plz :D

http://img96.exs.cx/img96/911/skin14lj.jpg

http://img96.exs.cx/img96/8835/skin23lp.jpg

http://img138.exs.cx/img138/2570/skin32ik.jpg

http://img138.exs.cx/img138/2207/skin43bq.jpg

legacy--Loric-
12-30-2004, 03:03 AM
First of all, you have to avoid having large areas painted with solid colors. I know this is more concept screens than anything else, but just in case.

So here's how I go. I use PhotoShop7. You will want to get a similar program in order to obtain any kind of complex texture work done.

I PS, I have a separate layer for 'the lightmap'. This 'lightmap' is an overlay layer that contains faked light and shadows so the model 3D is more visible.

Usually, the modellers create that lightmap from the 3D program they use (it can be done in 3DSMax or Maya and it's called "Baking" a model).

When you don't want to get into doing this (like for instance when you don't actually have the original model 3DSMax files or that you simply don't have 3DSMax), you can cheat a little and get a 'close enough' lightmap). Just go in PS, open the original skin .png file, dessaturate it (turns it in black and white), then blur it (gaussian blur), it removes all unecessary details...
Then use the result of the previous as an overlay layer (set that layer's blending mode to overlay) over all the rest of your art...
You will need to manually paint this layer to draw edges since when you blurred, you lost these useful details.