PDA

View Full Version : Inverted Terrain acting wierd

legacy-TheGhengisKhan
04-12-2004, 07:25 PM
Got a strange issue here, I'm working on an ONS map that takes place inside a cave. I have 2 terrains in my map, 1 everyone walks/drives on, the other one that makes the ceiling for the level. Wierd thing is that Raptors can fly straight up through it like it's not there, but cannot fly back down through it, and if you drop the raptor down to the inverted terrain and jump out of the Raptor, you fall to your death, all the way down to the floor terrain. And the Raptor stays above the inverted one!!!

Has anyone else discovered this issue, and possibly found a solution to it other than a couple hundred blocking volumes?

PointlesS
04-12-2004, 08:03 PM
weird...I'd help but I've never tried that before...

Dario D.
04-12-2004, 08:04 PM
(I dont know anything about Terrain, but I think>) I would think that the cave ceiling terrain is facing the wrong direction. In other words, you may need to flip the terrain upside down so that the true "top-side" of it is facing down. I think the raptors fly through it because it's as if they are underground.

How do I explain it better? Here's a regular terrain:

___/ \_/ \____/ \________

You can walk on top of it.
But, what if you moved it to the ceiling? You can walk on TOP of terrain, but can you still bump into it from underneath? If a raptor flies into the underside of your terrain, perhaps it's going right through because you're only supposed to colide with the top-side, not the underside.

I may be completely wrong, but if not, try flipping your terrain upside-down and seeing if it works.

legacy-TheGhengisKhan
04-12-2004, 08:18 PM