PDA

View Full Version : Is the player crouching?

legacy-TseTse
08-06-2003, 04:20 AM
ok, first of all... im somewhat new to unreal coding, but i also am starting to get the overall framework of it. im doing a simple weapon project of my own, mostly to learn how to code a little and also potentially for a mod down the road...

here's my situation: i want to check to see if the player is crouching, in determining the weapon spread.

event ModeDoFire()
{

local PlayerController PC;

PC = PlayerController(Instigator.Controller);

// 1. CHECK if GUN IS "COOL"
if ( Level.TimeSeconds - LastFireTime > 0.5 )
Spread = Default.Spread;

// 2. CHECK if PLAYER IS CROUCHED

else if ( PC.bIsCrouched == True )
{
Log("checking crouch: PC");
}

// 3. ELSE, WIDEn SPREAD A LOT

else
{
Spread = FMin(Spread+0.02,0.12);
}

LastFireTime = Level.TimeSeconds;
Super.ModeDoFire();
}

yes, i know that code doesnt work :D

i was trying to tap into the variable/state by checking the bIsCrouched, but it yells at me ("error, Cast from Pawn to PlayerCOntroller will always fail" is the wotgreal/ucc message).

how do i do this?

any/all tips would be greatly appreciated. normally, id look to the base code for a working example of the kind of thing i want, but i just dont see one.

legacy-TheSquirrelKing
08-06-2003, 12:45 PM
It might help to know what line the compiler is pointing out as containing the error...

legacy-FireCrack
08-06-2003, 05:56 PM
bIsCrouched is a property of pawn so instead of 'local PlayerControler PC;' you's wand somthing more like 'local Pawn P' i belive 'P = Pawn(instigator);' will work and then you can have 'if (p.bIsCrouched = True)'

legacy-TseTse
08-08-2003, 11:22 AM
Originally posted by FireCrack
bIsCrouched is a property of pawn so instead of 'local PlayerControler PC;' you's wand somthing more like 'local Pawn P' i belive 'P = Pawn(instigator);' will work and then you can have 'if (p.bIsCrouched = True)'

rgr,. i went ahead and tried that syntax...

event ModeDoFire()
{